Insurgent bodies!

Reclaim the streets ! 1
Friday December 5, 2008 – 20:30
Maison Pop’, Montreuil

Attention : This is an automatic translation !

In the presence of Olivier Blondeau and Laurence (authors of Devenir média)
With the cry of Reclaim the streets! , we will stop on the urban strategies of reappropriation, our lives, of our cities, implemented in a contemporary way by the movements altermondialists. Resulting from an activism from the multitudes, ecologist, anticapitalist and for the invention of radical democracies, these movements are anchored in “imaginary rupture”.
They are also at the origin of a use protestor of the media, an enthralling practice of against-information collaborative, mobile, decentralized, reformulated since the minority positions media-activists.  
The films presented result from two types of steps: one since the network of Indymedia media-activists and the other by the collective of plastics technicians Bernadette Corporation.

This is what democracy looks like
by Jill Freidberg et Rick Rowley

and filmed by more than 100 media-activists (68’, 2000)

This Is What Democracy Looks like, report of the events of Seattle in 1999 during the demonstrations against OMC.
Captivating implemented of an against-informative factory of the images, the film captures the crude energy of the protests, the vibrating one and powerful life of the multitude altermondialist, the unit and the multiplicity of the claims, alliance between militants of the countries of the south and militants local, the historical resonance of the event.
It recalls also a moment of reappropriation of the city vis-a-vis police repression and a democracy which fall the mask.
With more cameras in the streets than any media, Independent Media Center (IMC) coordinated more than one hundred of media-activists and collected more than 300 hours of rushes. In coproduction with the IMC and Big Noise Films, this film crosses confusion to offer a fulgurating portrait of this week which gave rise to a world civil movement.
This Is What Democracy Looks like seizes again the plurality of the image filmeds by these media-activists, for the majority implied since of the years in independent media, which found at the end of 1999 in Seattle, working with the creation of Indymedia. It can be used as model to think the experiment of the alternative media and their co-operative practices of collective and autonomous creation. They make the their currency of Jello Biafra “Don’ T hastens the media, become the media!” (Do not hate the media, become the media) which is that of the activism of the Tactical Mediae born in the Nineties.   


Get Rid of Yourself
by Bernadette Corporation
(2003, 60′)
with Chloé Sévigny and Werner Von Delmont

They say “another world is possible”. But we do not want a another world, of another kind, another justice: of another logical nightmare. We do not want governorship total, clean being, ecological being, being certified by Porto Alegre. We want THIS world. We want this world like chaos. We want the chaos of our lives, the chaos of our perceptions, the chaos of our desires and our repulsions. ”  
Built around the events of the top of G8 and its dispute in Genoa in July 2001, Get Rid off Yourself stops on the experiments and reflexions of autonomous mobilities and of the groups “black block”, born in particular in Germany in the Eighties.  It tries to in general connect the militant practical policy to an experiment of the life. From the point of view post-situationnist, the destruction (plundering of the supermarkets, setting with bag of the banks) and the occupation of the streets release from the zones released within the metropolis.
From testimonys in voice-over, Bernadette Corporation chooses to restore by an esthetics of the mixture, the intensities and the conflict of the feelings, the search of chaos and the postmodern concern of the permanent war post- September 11.  “Twenty years. Twenty years of counter-revolution. Of preventive counter-revolution. In Italy and elsewhere. Twenty years of a sleep roughcast of nettings, populated vigils. Of a sleep of the body, imposed by curfew. Twenty years. The past does not pass. Because the war continues. Is prolonged, ramifies. In a new calibration of subjectivitys.


1 Reclaim the streets (Let us take again the streets), of the name of the English action groups direct, which since 1994 organize festivals of street, between revolutionary carnivals and direct action, of insurrectionary and dionysiaque reappropriation of public spaces.

Texts and programmation : Kantuta Quiros & Aliocha Imhoff

Last Tweets

Insurgés du corps !

Reclaim the streets !

Vendredi 5 décembre 2008 – 20h30
Maison Pop’ de Montreuil
ENTREE LIBRE
En présence de Olivier Blondeau  et Laurence Allard (auteurs de Devenir média)
Au cri de Reclaim the streets !, nous nous arrêterons sur les stratégies de réappropriation urbaines, de nos vies, de nos villes, mises en œuvre de manière contemporaine par les mouvements altermondialistes. Issus d’un activisme des multitudes, écologiste, anticapitaliste et pour l’invention de démocraties radicales, ces mouvements s’ancrent dans un « imaginaire de la rupture ».
Ils sont également à l’origine d’un usage contestataire des médias, une passionnante pratique de la contre-information collaborative, mobile, décentralisée, reformulée depuis les positions minoritaires de médias-activistes.  
Les films présentés sont issus de deux types de démarches : l’une depuis le réseau de média-activistes Indymedia et l’autre par le collectif de plasticiens Bernadette Corporation.

This is what democracy looks like
de Jill Freidberg et Rick Rowley

et filmé par plus de 100 média-activistes (68’, 2000)

this-is-what-1.jpg

This Is What Democracy Looks like, compte rendu des évènements de Seattle en 1999 au cours des manifestations contre l’OMC.
Captivante mise en œuvre d’une fabrique contre-informative des images, le film capture l’énergie brute des protestations, la vibrante et puissante vie de la multitude altermondialiste, l’unité et la multiplicité des revendications, l’alliance entre militants des pays du sud et militants locaux, la résonance historique de l’événement.
Il retrace aussi un moment de réappropriation de la ville face à la répression policière et une démocratie qui tombe le masque.
Avec plus de caméras dans les rues que n’importe quel média, l’Independent Media Center (IMC) a coordonné plus d’une centaine de média-activistes et collecté plus de 300 heures de rushes. En coproduction avec l’IMC et Big Noise Films, ce film traverse la confusion pour offrir un portrait fulgurant de cette semaine qui a donné naissance à un mouvement civil mondial.
This Is What Democracy Looks like ressaisit la pluralité des images tournées par ces média-activistes, pour la plupart impliqués depuis des années dans des médias indépendants, qui se sont retrouvés fin 1999 à Seattle, œuvrant à la création d’Indymedia. Il peut servir de modèle pour penser l’expérience des médias alternatifs et leurs pratiques coopératives de création collective et autonome. Ils font leur la devise de Jello Biafra "Don’t hate the media, become the media!" (Ne hais pas les médias, deviens les médias) qui est celle de l’activisme des Medias Tactiques né dans les années 90.  


this-is-what-3.jpg

Get Rid of Yourself
de Bernadette Corporation
(2003, 60′)
avec Chloé Sévigny et Werner Von Delmont

« Ils disent « un autre monde est possible ». Mais nous ne voulons pas d’un autre monde, d’un autre ordre, d’une autre justice : d’un autre cauchemar logique. Nous ne voulons pas d’une gouvernance globale, être propre, être écologique, être certifié par Porto Alegre. Nous voulons CE monde. Nous voulons ce monde comme chaos. Nous voulons le chaos de nos vies, le chaos de nos perceptions, le chaos de nos désirs et de nos répulsions. »  
Construit autour des événements du sommet du G8 et de sa contestation à Gênes en juillet 2001, Get Rid of Yourself s’arrête sur les expériences et réflexions des mouvements autonomes et des groupes « black block » en particulier, nés en Allemagne dans les années 80.  Il tente de relier la pratique politique militante à une expérience de la vie en général. Dans une perspective post-situationniste, la destruction (pillage des supermarchés, mise à sac des banques) et l’occupation des rues dégagent des zones libérées au sein de la métropole.
A partir de témoignages en voix off, Bernadette Corporation choisit de restituer par une esthétique du mélange, les intensités et le conflit des sensations, la quête du chaos et l’inquiétude postmoderne de la guerre permanente post-11 septembre.  « Vingt ans. Vingt ans de contre-révolution. De contre-révolution préventive. En Italie et ailleurs. Vingt ans d’un sommeil hérissé de grillages, peuplé de vigiles. D’un sommeil des corps, imposé par couvre-feu. Vingt ans. Le passé ne passe pas. Parce que la guerre continue. Se prolonge, se ramifie. Dans un calibrage inédit des subjectivités. »

cin-bernadettecorporation.jpg

1 Reclaim the streets (Reprenons les rues), du nom des groupes d’action directe anglais, qui depuis 1994 organisent des fêtes de rue, entre carnavals révolutionnaires et action directe, de réappropriation insurrectionnelle et dionysiaque des espaces publics.

Textes et programmation : Kantuta Quiros & Aliocha Imhoff

Last Tweets

  • RT @EspaceKhiasma: Lundi 12/12 20h K.Quiros & A.Imhoff @peuplequimanque "Les Impatients" Chicago, Paris, Dakar.. Guetter de nvx avenirs htt…- jeudi 8 Déc - 3:27
  • RT @m_nachtergael: @m_nachtergael j'espère lire bientôt les potentiels du temps... C'est déjà ça!- lundi 14 Nov - 1:11
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, Jour 1, Nov 16. Quintane, Latour, Scherer, @jamieallen , Aït-Touati, @JacobLund8, @olgaschu. Art, politics, public…- lundi 14 Nov - 1:08
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, nov 17. Jour 2. Décoloniser le présent 1. Afrogalactisme. Vergès. Sundaram. Kiwanga. Cusset. Marboeuf. Sadallah. R…- lundi 14 Nov - 1:08
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, jour 4. Hétérochronies. Potentiels. Syrie. Chicago. @pottebonneville. Wedeen. @CamilledeToledo. @julietaaranda. @w- lundi 14 Nov - 1:08
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, jour 3. Décoloniser le présent 2. Accélération. Engagement . Attia. Rosler. @aavarmen. Slavs and Tatars. @peuplequ- lundi 14 Nov - 1:07
  • Curating as Rhapsody, conférence de Kantuta Quirós et Aliocha Imhoff, Université de Barcelone, demain à 18h… https://t.co/ih2KD1qFhK- mardi 8 Nov - 11:22