Beyond the Magiciens
Fondation Gulbenkian - Délégation en France
Friday February 6, 2015

Les Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers
Saturday February 7, 2015
Sunday February 8 2015

Staff, partners, thanks
Practical informations
Some pictures
Video Archives

"Untitled map drawing" (2009, ink on paper, 50 x 60 cm) by Landon Mackenzie

Beyond the Magiciens Effect

February 6-8, 2015
Fondation Gulbenkian & Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers

A global geography of art has emerged since the late 1980s. During the interval of a three-day symposium, a diplomatic scenography will be imagining alternative geographies of art.

 Many would agree that a new international geography of art has established itself since the late 1980s. A global shift that has been described by the art theorist Joaquin Barriendos as the “Magiciens effect”[1]. Often portrayed as decentering the once predominantly European-American canon (with its accompanying cultural politics), the shift really seems to be reengaging with a universal geopolitical language: “global art as a postcolonial lingua franca offered to the world by the West”[2]. This geoaesthetic regime appears to be based on a crucial paradox, which together perpetuate asymmetries and hierarchies at the heart of this new globalized narrative : on the one hand, it is characterized by the fragmentation of narratives, the opening up to postcolonial studies, situated knowledge and epistemologies of the South; on the other hand, it is marked by a return of meta-narratives, of the global museum (as new form of the universal museum), a redeployment of world art history as methodology.

So global art has failed – what comes next? What geoaesthetic regimes can we invent and deploy for the future? What institutionalizing gestures can we initiate to provoke a new shift? Finally, what museums and institutions can we reimagine?

The symposium will be using a diplomatic scenography, opening with a space for statements and complaints, and following with diplomatically negotiated proposals, during which we will collectively work on inventing other contemporary geoaesthetic regimes, acknowledging the power of fiction and thought experiments to produce scripts and scenarios that act as performative operators of possibles.

Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós

With Kader Attia (artist), Joaquin Barriendos (art theorist), Romain Bertrand (historian), Tania Bruguera* (artist), Fernando Bryce (artist), Gustavo Buntinx (art historian, curator), Pascale Casanova (literary theorist), Eder Castillo (artist), Emmanuelle Chérel (art historian), Cesar Cornejo (artist), Jérôme David (literary theorist), Charles Esche (curator, theorist), Olivier Hadouchi (film historian), Maria Hlavajova (artistic director, BAK), Eduardo Jorge (writer), Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc (artist), Kapwani Kiwanga (artist), Pedro Lasch (artist), Olivier Marboeuf (artistic director, Khiasma), Vincent Message (essayist, novelist), Yves Mintoogue (political scientist), Jean-Claude Moineau (art theorist), Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga (independant curator), Malick N’Diaye (art historian), Vincent Normand (writer, curator), Olu Oguibe (artist), John Peffer (art theorist), Estefanía Peñafiel Loaiza (artist), Revue Afrikadaa (Pascale Obolo, Louisa Babari), David Ruffel (artistic director), Lionel Ruffel (literacy theorist), Elena Sorokina (curator, art historian), Ida Soulard (art historian), Boaventura de Sousa Santos (sociologist), Camille de Toledo (writer, artist), Susana Torres (artist), Françoise Vergès (political scientist), Nicolas Vieillescazes (philosopher)


Curating: Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros.
With the support of the Mairie de Paris, the Région Ile-de-France, the Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian – Délégation en France, the Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers. A publication will follow, supported by the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Nantes Métropole/Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture/LAUA and the Presses Universitaires de Rennes
Production: le peuple qui manque
Coordination : Isabelle Montin, Helena Hattmannsdorfer, Viola Giulia Milocco, Riccardo Ferrante
Scenography: Adel Cersaque


* with reservations

[1] Presented in 1989 at the Centre Georges Pompidou, Les Magiciens de la Terre was conceived as the first global exhibition. A monumental and polemical exhibition, Les Magiciens proposed to reintroduce long forgotten artistic geographies that had been kept on the edges of the art historical canon and its official narratives. Its curator, Jean-Hubert Martin, had invited for the occasion a hundred artists and “non-artists” from the Asian, African, and Latin American art scenes. Positing the failure of Western art histories to justify opening the museum to these new scenes, Martin appealed to ethnographic and anthropological discourses as heuristic tools, which had the effect of substituting endogenous histories of art with yet another exogenous discourse. The paradoxes of this exhibition still innervate a significant portion of current-day reflections underlying museological discussions on the internationalization of art (whether the exhibition is claimed as a forbear or critiqued and deconstructed for its presuppositions). According to Joaquin Barriendos, “Aesthetic globocentrism” may be construed as resulting from the “Magiciens effect”, if one assumes that the spatial turn of global art began in Paris in 1989 as a consequence of the cosmo-ethical revisionism initiated by the emblematic exhibition Magiciens de la Terre.

[2] Joaquín Barriendos, Un cosmopolitisme esthétique? De l’« effet Magiciens » et d’autres antinomies de l’hospitalité artistique globale. , in Kantuta Quiros & Aliocha Imhoff (dir.), Géoesthétique, B42, 2014

Image credit “Untitled map drawing” (2009, ink on paper, 50 x 60 cm) by Landon Mackenzie 




Last Tweets

Au delà
de l'Effet-
Magiciens
symposium-performance
Fondation Gulbenkian - Délégation en France
Vendredi 6 février 2015

Les Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers
Samedi 7 février 2015
Dimanche 8 février 2015

Invités
Equipe, partenaires, remerciements
Informations pratiques
Publication
Quelques images
Archives vidéos


"Untitled map drawing" (2009, ink on paper, 50 x 60 cm) by Landon Mackenzie

Au delà de l’effet-Magiciens

6-7-8 février 2015
Fondation Gulbenkian & Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers

Une géographie globale de l’art s’est imposée depuis la fin des années 1980. Une scénographie diplomatique imagine durant trois jours, d’autres géographies possibles de l’art.

Comme on le sait, depuis la fin des années 1980, une nouvelle géographie internationale de l’art s’est imposée, un tournant global qui aura pu être décrit par le théoricien de l’art Joaquin Barriendos comme l’effet-Magiciens[1]. Souvent narré comme un décentrement du canon – autrefois principalement européano-américain – ainsi que des politiques culturelles qui l’accompagnent, celui-ci semble plutôt réengager un nouveau langage géopolitique universel: « l’art mondial comme lingua franca postcoloniale offerte au monde, par l’Occident »[2]. Ce régime géoesthétique repose ainsi sur un profond paradoxe, perpétuant des asymétries et des hiérarchies au cœur de ce nouveau récit mondialisé : une fragmentation des récits, une ouverture aux études postcoloniales, aux savoirs situés et aux épistémologies du Sud d’un côté, contre un retour du méta-récit autant que du musée global (comme ultime avatar du musée universel) et le déploiement de la world art history comme méthodologie, de l’autre.

L’art global a échoué, alors, quels autres régimes géoesthétiques inventer et déployer dans les années à venir ? Quels gestes instituants serait-il nécessaire de produire pour provoquer un tel virage ? Enfin, quels musées et institutions ré-imaginer?

Sous la forme d’une scénographie diplomatique, ce symposium s’ouvre par un espace de déposition puis engage des propositions qui seront négociées diplomatiquement où nous nous proposerons d’inventer collectivement, d’autres régimes géoesthétiques contemporains, tout en prenant acte de la puissance de la fiction et des expériences de pensée à produire des scripts, des scénarios qui agissent comme des opérateurs performatifs sur les possibles.

Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós

Avec Kader Attia (artiste), Joaquin Barriendos (théoricien de l’art), Romain Bertrand (historien), Tania Bruguera* (artiste), Fernando Bryce (artiste), Gustavo Buntinx (historien de l’art, curateur), Pascale Casanova (théoricienne de la littérature), Eder Castillo (artiste), Emmanuelle Chérel (historienne de l’art), Cesar Cornejo (artiste), Jérôme David (théoricien de la littérature), Charles Esche (curateur, théoricien, directeur du Van Abbemuseum), Olivier Hadouchi (historien du cinéma), Maria Hlavajova (directrice artistique BAK), Eduardo Jorge (écrivain, essayiste), Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc (artiste), Kapwani Kiwanga (artiste), Pedro Lasch (artiste), Olivier Marboeuf (directeur artistique de Khiasma), Vincent Message (essayiste, romancier), Yves Mintoogue (doctorant en sciences politiques), Jean-Claude Moineau (théoricien de l’art), Julia Morandeira Arrizabalaga (commissaire d’exposition), Malick N’Diaye (historien de l’art), Vincent Normand (auteur, commissaire d’expositions), Olu Oguibe (artiste), John Peffer (théoricien de l’art), Estefanía Peñafiel Loaiza (artiste), Revue Afrikadaa (Pascale Obolo, Louisa Babari), David Ruffel (directeur artistique), Lionel Ruffel (théoricien de la littérature), Elena Sorokina (commissaire d’exposition), Ida Soulard (historienne de l’art), Boaventura de Sousa Santos (sociologue), Camille de Toledo (écrivain, artiste), Susana Torres (artiste), Françoise Vergès (politologue), Nicolas Vieillescazes (philosophe).



Commissariat et direction
: Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós.
Avec le soutien de la Mairie de Paris, de la Région Ile-de-France, de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian – Délégation en France, les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers. Une publication suivra également, soutenue par l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Nantes/l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Nantes Métropole et les Presses Universitaires de Rennes.
Production: le peuple qui manque
Coordination: Isabelle Montin, Helena Hattmannsdorfer, Viola Giulia Milocco, Riccardo Ferrante
Scénographie: Adel Cersaque

logos-magiciens


* sous réserve

[1] Présentée en 1989 au Centre Georges Pompidou, Les Magiciens de la Terre, s’est pensée comme la première exposition planétaire. Exposition monumentale et polémique, elle proposait de réintégrer dans l’espace de l’art ces géographies artistiques longtemps oubliées, tenues à la lisière du canon de l’histoire de l’art et de ses récits officiels. Son commissaire, Jean-Hubert Martin, y convoquait une centaine d’artistes et « non-artistes » issus de scènes asiatiques, africaines, latino-américaines. Postulant la déroute des histoires de l’art occidentales pour se saisir de ces scènes, Martin faisait appel aux discours ethnographiques et anthropologiques comme outils heuristiques, qui se substituaient tout autant aux histoires de l’art endogènes. Les paradoxes de cette exposition innervent aujourd’hui encore une large part – que ce soit pour s’inscrire dans sa filiation ou opérer aujourd’hui encore un démontage critique de ses présupposés – des réflexions qui sous-tendent les débats muséologiques sur l’internationalisation de l’art. Selon Joaquin Barriendos, le « globocentrisme esthétique » résulterait de l’ « effet-Magiciens », avec pour supposition que le tournant spatial de l’art global a commencé à Paris, en 1989, comme conséquence du révisionnisme cosmo-éthique initié par l’emblématique exposition Les Magiciens de la Terre.

[2] Joaquín Barriendos, Un cosmopolitisme esthétique? De l’« effet Magiciens » et d’autres antinomies de l’hospitalité artistique globale. , in Kantuta Quirós & Aliocha Imhoff (dir.), Géoesthétique, B42, 2014

Crédit image: « Untitled map drawing » (2009, ink on paper, 50 x 60 cm) by Landon Mackenzie

Last Tweets