Carte-Blanche for le peuple qui manque

Cinema rises up
Friday March 21, 2008
Years 68′
Le lieu unique invites le peuple qui manque for this Night 68′

Attention : This is an automatic translation !
We do not commemorate 68, us did not know 68. We have only the nostalgia of the future. Happening and total art, insurrectionary militancy and revolutionary homosexual face, black power and radical feminism will compose a cinematographic against-cultural newspaper “of the years 68”, which involved in their wake a deep upheaval of the relationship between art and policy, with the force inalienable, contradictory, and always alive.

Meet-discussion at the conclusion of projection in the presence of Jean-Michel Humeau, Lionel Soukaz, Aliocha Imhoff and Kantuta Quiros.

Programming: Le peuple qui manque (Kantuta Quiros and Aliocha Imhoff)

La cour – 18h30 à 23h30

LE HAPPENING ET LA POLITIQUE
by Jean-Jacques Lebel(extract)

“The happenings of Jean-Jacques Lebel are the exact point where the theatre explodes. ” Jean Paul Sartre.
“Temporary Situations, founded on the desire”, between erotic impulse and upheaval of social, unconscious and imaginary space, the happenings of Jean-Jacques Lebel, plastics technician and initiator of the happening in Europe, were often regarded as préfigurations of the events of May 68. Icon of the movement of May, it was one of the iron-of-lance, at the time more particularly, of the catch of the theatre of Odéon. (A.I & K.Q.)
“The happening cannot nor does not want to replace a strike, an sex act or a psychoanalysis; it is not spectacle but collective dream. To apprehend such an experiment, it is necessary to achieve an experiment which makes jump the doors of perception. ”, wrote Jean Jacques Lebel, Carolee Schneemann, Jocelyn de Noblet, Daniel Pomereulle and Erro in 1964.

LE SOULEVEMENT DE LA JEUNESSE – MAI 68
by Maurice Lemaître (1968, 28′)
lemaitre.jpg “In the Rising of youth, there are a walk in Paris, One evening resumption to the cinema, but more interiorized much, it was a type which thought of the topic of the social evolution, of the revolution… And then also I succeeded in pirating the Current events of 1968 and I mixed all that… There was at the same time Paris, a new theory of political economy moving, a report on this theory and an aesthetic invention. ” – Paris seen by the cinema of avant-garde (1923-1983), Paris Experimental, 1985
“Ideas of the Rising of youth, that Lettristes were the first, since 1949, to expose and defend, ideas which found their illustration partial in the events of May 68, and whose topicality did not weaken… are found in the sound of film, in the shape of a text of Isidore Isou who summarizes them and whom a stream of consciousness of Maurice Lemaître intersects per moments, a such Fabrice vibrating with the battle of Waterloo. Under this angle, the film remains an alive leaflet, which combines… “aesthetic and political”” Works of cinema (1951-2007)
HE ! VIVA DADA
by Jean-Michel Humeau (1965, 39min)
/ In its presence

jean-michel-humeau-he-viva-dada-10.jpg “Of the happening to the mime, all the forms of a total art were successively tested. (…) we thought that these documents remained a proof of our generation to finish some with the taboos, the pretences, the excrement of our company. The testimony of an Allen Ginsberg poet appeared necessary to us to clarify interior this step close to that of Artaud or Michaux and which, through this waste, this bursting of the structures morals aims at a total art for a revival of the man. ” (extracted)
Magnificiently filmed by Jean-Michel Humeau, “He! Viva Dada” is a report of the second Festival of the free expression, “laboratory of the feelings”, organized by Jean-Jacques Lebel in the American Center of the Artists, Raspail boulevard, in May 1965.
Happenings and parts signed Fernando Arrabal, Roland Topor, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Jean Jacques Lebel, Jocelyn de Noblet, Ben, Charlotte Moorman  (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

jean-michel-humeau-he-viva-dada-11.jpg
 

S.C.U.M. Manifesto
by Carole Roussopoulos et Delphine Seyrig (1976, 27min)

scum-manifesto-1.jpg“SCUM will continue to destroy, plunder, sabotage and kill until the system based on the money and work crumbled and which automation is instituted on all the levels, or until a sufficient number allied women with SCUM makes it possible to reach these goals without resorting to violence”.
Reading put in scene of the book of Valerie Solanas, S.C.U.M. Manifesto is an indictment against the company dominated by the “male” image and the “virile” action, presented like substitutes to the deep impotence of the men. S.C.U.M. means “Society for cutting up men”.

OFF THE PIG, BLACK PANTH
ERS
by Newsreel (1968, 15min)

“At the same time call to the action and one emergency period old portrait in activism, this genuine proclamation of Black Panthers was at its time a tool for recruitment as much as a piercing criticism of the socio-economic situation of the American blacks. ” Olivier Pierre (Festival Est-ce ainsi que les hommes vivent)

black-panthers-2.jpg


SORCIERES-CAMARADES
by Danielle Jaeggi (1971, 10 mn)

sorcieres-camarades.jpg Witch-camararades perhaps seen like film-proclamation of a feminist against-cinema. “A film on the women/a film by women/a film for the women/With a camera of man. One day of the women will see these images of our sad survival and will wonder how we could support it. ” (extracted)
(distribution : le peuple qui manque)

LE VENT SOUFFLE OÙ IL VEUT
by Roger Danel (1973, 14’)

le-vent-souffle-ou-il-veut.jpg “Crimped by the melancholy and the corrosive liveliness of the text of Gerard Jeanpierre, vibrating militant figure of the antipsychiatry during the Seventies, the wind blows where he wants, as its beautiful title reveals it to us, is filled up puffs of revolutionary poetry of after 68 and the 1st walk of homosexual pride in May 1971, year of the appearance of the FHAR (Homosexual Face of Revolutionary Action). Luminous farandoles and insolence of the slogans, sexual release and insurrection of the desires, the very beautiful one and too ignored film of Roger Danel, is also a load against the repressive systems. (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

WOMANHOUSE
by Johanna Demetrakas (1974, 47 min)
womanhouse-wh_linen.jpg “In 1972, an exhibition was created about which one spoke much: “Womanhouse”. Under the direction of Miriam Shapiro and Judy Chicago which became major figures of feminist art in the Seventies and Eighties (…), twenty-four women (whose Faith Wilding) arranged a house in Los Angeles. Space domestic becoming space of exposure, the distinction between public and private disappeared and conventions governing the representation flew in glares; the bathroom and the doll’s house became spaces of exposure “appropriate” to feminist art. “Womanhouse” encensait what was regarded as commonplace: the beauty products, the tampons, the household linen, the shower caps and the underclothing became highly artistic materials. All the media were interested in it, by often carrying out reports with feeling; the exposure brought the proof that feminist art had a public many and impassioned” Peggy Phelan
Womanhouse is a documentary extraordinary history on one of the feminist cultural events most important of the Seventies in the United States. It is not limited to being the witness of several famous performances such Waiting (Waiting) of Faith Wilding or Cock and cunt play (the part of the cock and the she-cat) of Judy Chicago, as well as various parts of the exposure-house Nurturant Kitchen (feeder Kitchen), Menstruation Bathroom (the bathroom of the rules), Nightmare Bathroom (the bathroom of the nightmares) or of the installation Linen Closet (Wall cupboard with linen), but also recalls the workshops of collective awakenings, the interactions with the public, and all the energy of this time. (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

MIKONO
by Jean-Michel Humeau (1978, 11min)
/ In its presence

“Imaginary Portrait of a CRS, the Mikono sergeant. The images of the confrontations of the Latin Quarter in May 1968 and the comment which turns in derision the police force make of this film a success of subversion and irony. ” (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

jean-michel-humeau-mikono-2.jpg
 

LA VRAIE VIE EST AILLEURS
by Roger Danel (1968, 15min)

la-vraie-vie-est-ailleurs-de-roger-danel-1.jpg“Daily life. Machine. Machine to be lived. Machine to be transported. Machine to be consumed. Machine to be burst. Consumption of the spectacle. Spectacle of consumption. Obsession. ” (Gerard Jeanpierre, extract) “the idea of this film, designed as of March 1967, largely anticipated the events of May-June 1968, since it had as a subject the revolt of youth, in particular coed. One can say that it was been used for point by the events, or rather than those allowed film to be born, with demonstrators who were not observers…
In 1967, the narrator (Gerard Jeanpierre) militated in a group “Seeks libertarian”, in which Daniel Cohn-Bendit took part besides and who published a small newspaper of the same name. Of course, the explosion of the revolt coed was not without incidence on the contents even film, which it contributed to nourish and direct. The author was itself in the middle of the action, while remaining a peaceful witness filming the events. (…)
Beyond the event-driven one, one notes that the reflexion of the narrator rises remarkably above the topicality and analyzes in terms of unconscious collective the “concrete neurosis” which then started to seize our cities. Let us greet this premonitory vision which one did not finish, alas, to observe the accuracy. ” Roger Danel / (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

NEW OLD
by Pierre Clémenti (1979, 66min)

“Transitory and blazing, directly related on the psychedelic revolution and the generation hippie, the cinema French underground (or as one liked to say at the time, underground cinema), emerged in the against-cultural effervescence which announced and prepared the chamboulements May 68. Movies of protest, dispute, provocation, refusal. Agitprop and rough poetry. ” Jean Pierre Bouyxou
“The films of Pierre Clémenti convert the political energy of the revolution into cinematographic substrates. To a poetic revolutionist Clémenti associates a policy of the forms and assembly. The libertarian contents marry an apology for freedom here. ” Jean Marie Samocki
“Chronic of this end of century… Testimony of my life, forms newspaper on my activities of actor before and after 1973. Stammerings, fulgurances, illuminations, revealed intimacy which half-opens the radiant slit of the conscience, long multicoloured snake, ribbon clearing a passage to the call of the signs” Pierre Clémenti

new-old-de-pierre-clementi-3.jpgnew-old-de-pierre-clementi-4.jpgnew-old-de-pierre-clementi-5.jpg
 

“Cabine Vidéo” – Salle 1 – de 18h30 à 21h45

LES DIABLES DE BRION
by Françoise Janicot (1974, 20’)
les-diables-de-brion-francoise-janicot-1.jpgExit of a Letter with Brion Gysin, this videotape is dedicated to the magic incantations of the painter and writer of Happy the Generation, Brion Gysin, inventor with William Burroughs of the literary cut-up. Whereas in 1974, Brion Gysin is made operate of a cancer to London, Francoise Janicot, Bernard Heidsieck, and friends poets and musicians decide to send this “sound” letter to him. “Realized on the famous revox has 700 of Heidsieck, it pronounces, with several voices, interfering themselves, answering themselves, the name and first name of Gysin. Sending with the direction first, homage, special dedication, that to say of other that the name of its recipient, discharged, catapulted in only one breath of multiple energies. Polyphonic part, this letter is a vital partition pulsated by the friendship. Brion Gysin could hear it, it had a ten years remission”.
The ressassement stroboscopic one of the words, their infinite chant and the ghostly presence of the poet make this band traditional of the psychédélie. (distribution : le peuple qui manque)
“Cabine Vidéo” –  Salle 2 – de 18h30 à 21h45

IXE
by Lionel Soukaz (1980, 48min)
/ In its presence

Ixe, a film dedicated to the law of the same name. “Ixe, like a cry, a wound, is a film implosé, crucifié, designed to be projected on two screens simultaneously. It is a quartering with the four cardinal corners, at the four ends: the war, the sex, the religion and drug.”. Guy Hocquenghem.
“Lionel Soukaz is a rare author. He films without taboo, without concession. Child of May 68, he is that of the sexual release, the pleasure of living with excess his desires, drug, the sex. Sensitive witness of its time, that which films his/her friends, Guy Hocquenghem, Copi and the others less famous, films also the tragedy of the AIDS, of the meetings of Act Up to the white walls of the hospital. To speak about its style, its tone, his/her friend, the philosopher Rene Schérer, evokes “a despaired vitality”, Nicole Brenez, fighting experimental cinema, qualifies its cinema “of political Eros”. ” Aude Lavigne, France culture, 2002

ixe-de-lionel-soukaz-2.jpg
ixe-de-lionel-soukaz-1.jpg

The cinema is not framed, muséifie not,
it is always alive, it keeps all, it does not lose anything.

Thanks: Le lieu unique (Virginie Pringuet), Jean-Jacques Lebel, Jean-Michel Humeau, Françoise Janicot, Roger Danel, Danielle Jaeggi, Lionel Soukaz, Tripak, Balthazar Clémenti, Johanna Demetrakas, Prospective Image (Marie-Pierre Lemaître), Thirld World Newsreel (Roselly Torres), 360°et même plus (Ivora Cuzak), Collectif Jeune Cinéma (Violeta Salvatierra), Centre Pompidou (Gilles Bion, Alexis Constantin), Olivier Pierre.

Complete program of Night 68

++

Last Tweets

  • RT @EspaceKhiasma: Lundi 12/12 20h K.Quiros & A.Imhoff @peuplequimanque "Les Impatients" Chicago, Paris, Dakar.. Guetter de nvx avenirs htt…- Thursday 8 Dec - 3:27pm
  • RT @m_nachtergael: @m_nachtergael j'espère lire bientôt les potentiels du temps... C'est déjà ça!- Monday 14 Nov - 1:11pm
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, Jour 1, Nov 16. Quintane, Latour, Scherer, @jamieallen , Aït-Touati, @JacobLund8, @olgaschu. Art, politics, public…- Monday 14 Nov - 1:08pm
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, nov 17. Jour 2. Décoloniser le présent 1. Afrogalactisme. Vergès. Sundaram. Kiwanga. Cusset. Marboeuf. Sadallah. R…- Monday 14 Nov - 1:08pm
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, jour 4. Hétérochronies. Potentiels. Syrie. Chicago. @pottebonneville. Wedeen. @CamilledeToledo. @julietaaranda. @w- Monday 14 Nov - 1:08pm
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, jour 3. Décoloniser le présent 2. Accélération. Engagement . Attia. Rosler. @aavarmen. Slavs and Tatars. @peuplequ- Monday 14 Nov - 1:07pm
  • Curating as Rhapsody, conférence de Kantuta Quirós et Aliocha Imhoff, Université de Barcelone, demain à 18h… https://t.co/ih2KD1qFhK- Tuesday 8 Nov - 11:22pm

Carte Blanche au peuple qui manque

 Le cinéma s’insurge
Vendredi 21 Mars 2008
Les années 68
Le lieu unique invite le peuple qui manque pour la Nuit 68

Nous ne commémorons pas 68, nous n’avons pas connu 68. Nous n’avons que la nostalgie du futur. Happening et art total, militantisme insurrectionnel et front homosexuel révolutionnaire, black power et féminisme radical composeront un journal contre-culturel cinématographique « des années 68 », qui entraînèrent dans leur sillage un profond bouleversement des rapports entre art et politique, à la force inaliénable, contradictoire, et toujours vivante.

Rencontre-discussion à l’issue de la projection en présence de Jean-Michel Humeau, Lionel Soukaz, Aliocha Imhoff et Kantuta Quiros.

Programmation : Le peuple qui manque (Kantuta Quiros et Aliocha Imhoff)


La cour – 18h30 à 23h30

LE HAPPENING ET LA POLITIQUE
de Jean-Jacques Lebel(extrait)

« Les happenings de Jean-Jacques Lebel sont le point exact où le théâtre explose. » Jean Paul Sartre.
« Situations temporaires, fondées sur le désir », entre pulsion érotique et bouleversement de l’espace social, inconscient et imaginaire, les happenings de Jean-Jacques Lebel, plasticien et initiateur du happening en Europe, ont souvent été considérés comme des préfigurations des événements de mai 68. Icône du mouvement de mai, il en fut un des fers-de-lance, lors plus particulièrement, de la prise du théâtre de l’Odéon. (A.I & K.Q.)
« Le happening ne peut ni ne veut remplacer une grève, un acte sexuel ou une psychanalyse ; il n’est pas spectacle mais rêve collectif. Pour appréhender une telle expérience, il faut accomplir une expérience qui fasse sauter les portes de la perception. », écrivaient Jean Jacques Lebel, Carolee Schneemann, Jocelyn de Noblet, Daniel Pomereulle et Erro en 1964.

LE SOULEVEMENT DE LA JEUNESSE – MAI 68
de Maurice Lemaître (1968, 28′)
lemaitre.jpg « Dans Le Soulèvement de la jeunesse, il y a une promenade dans Paris, reprise d’Un soir au cinéma, mais beaucoup plus intériorisée, c’était un type qui réfléchissait au thème de l’évolution sociale, de la révolution… Et puis aussi j’ai réussi à pirater les Actualités de 1968 et j’ai mêlé tout ça… Il y avait à la fois Paris, une nouvelle théorie d’économie politique en marche, un reportage sur cette théorie et une invention esthétique. » – Paris vu par le cinéma d’avant-garde (1923-1983), Paris Expérimental, 1985

 « Les idées du Soulèvement de la jeunesse, que les Lettristes furent les premiers, dès 1949, à exposer et à défendre, idées qui trouvèrent leur illustration partielle dans les événements de Mai 68, et dont l’actualité n’a pas faibli… se retrouvent dans le son du film, sous la forme d’un texte d’Isidore Isou qui les résume et qu’un monologue intérieur de Maurice Lemaître entrecoupe par instants, tel un Fabrice vibrant à la bataille de Waterloo. Sous cet angle, le film demeure un tract vivant, qui allie … “esthétique et politique” » Œuvres de cinéma (1951-2007)

HE ! VIVA DADA
de Jean-Michel Humeau (1965, 39min)
/ En sa présence

jean-michel-humeau-he-viva-dada-10.jpg « Du happening à la pantomime, toutes les formes d’un art total ont été successivement essayées. (…) nous avons pensé que ces documents restaient une preuve de notre génération d’en finir avec les tabous, les faux semblants, le caca de notre société. Le témoignage d’un poète Allen Ginsberg nous a paru nécessaire pour éclairer de l’intérieur cette démarche proche de celle d’Artaud ou de Michaux et qui, à travers ce gâchis, cet éclatement des structures morales vise un art total pour un renouveau de l’homme. » (extrait)
Magnifiquement filmé par Jean-Michel Humeau, « Hé ! Viva Dada » est un compte-rendu du deuxième Festival de la libre expression, « laboratoire des sensations », organisé par Jean-Jacques Lebel au Centre américain des Artistes, boulevard Raspail, en mai 1965.
Happenings et pièces signés Fernando Arrabal, Roland Topor, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Jean Jacques Lebel, Jocelyn de Noblet, Ben, Charlotte Moorman  (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

jean-michel-humeau-he-viva-dada-11.jpg
 

S.C.U.M. Manifesto
de Carole Roussopoulos et Delphine Seyrig (1976, 27min)

scum-manifesto-1.jpg« SCUM continuera à détruire, piller, saboter et tuer jusqu’à ce que le système basé sur l’argent et le travail se soit effondré et que l’automation soit instituée à tous les niveaux, ou jusqu’à ce qu’un nombre suffisant de femmes alliées à SCUM permette d’atteindre ces buts sans recourir à la violence ».
Lecture mise en scène du livre de Valerie Solanas, S.C.U.M. Manifesto est un réquisitoire contre la société dominée par l’image « mâle » et l’action « virile », présentés comme des substituts à la profonde impuissance des hommes. S.C.U.M. signifie “Society for cutting up men”.

OFF THE PIG, BLACK PANTHERS
de Newsreel (1968, 15min)

« A la fois appel à l’action et portrait d’une période d’urgence dans l’activisme, ce véritable manifeste des Black Panthers était à son époque un outil de recrutement autant qu’une critique perçante de la situation socio-économique des noirs américains. »  Olivier Pierre (Festival Est-ce ainsi que les hommes vivent
)

black-panthers-2.jpg


SORCIERES-CAMARADES
de Danielle Jaeggi (1971, 10 mn)

sorcieres-camarades.jpg Sorcières-camararades peut-être vu comme le film-manifeste d’un contre-cinéma féministe. « Un film sur les femmes / Un film par des femmes / Un film pour les femmes / Avec une caméra d’homme. Un jour des femmes verront ces images de notre triste survie et se demanderont comment nous avons pu la supporter. » (extrait)
(distribution : le peuple qui manque)

LE VENT SOUFFLE OÙ IL VEUT
de Roger Danel (1973, 14’)

le-vent-souffle-ou-il-veut.jpg « Serti par la mélancolie et la verve corrosive du texte de Gérard Jeanpierre, vibrante figure militante de l’antipsychiatrie durant les années 70, Le vent souffle où il veut, comme son beau titre nous le révèle, est empli des bouffées de poésie révolutionnaire de l’après 68 et de la 1ère marche de fierté homosexuelle en mai 1971, année de l’apparition du FHAR (Front Homosexuel d’Action Révolutionnaire). Farandoles lumineuses et insolence des slogans, libération sexuelle et insurrection des désirs, le très beau et trop méconnu film de Roger Danel, est aussi une charge contre les systèmes répressifs. » (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

WOMANHOUSE
de Johanna Demetrakas (1974, 47 min)
womanhouse-wh_linen.jpg « En 1972, fût créée une exposition dont on a beaucoup parlé : « Womanhouse ». Sous la direction de Miriam Shapiro et de Judy Chicago qui devinrent des figures majeures de l’art féministe dans les années 70 et 80 (…), vingt-quatre femmes (dont Faith Wilding) aménagèrent une maison à Los Angeles. L’espace domestique devenant espace d’exposition, la distinction entre public et privé disparaissait et les conventions régissant la représentation volaient en éclats ; la salle de bain et la maison de poupée devenaient des espaces d’exposition « appropriés » à l’art féministe. « Womanhouse » encensait ce qui était considéré comme trivial : les produits de beauté, les tampons hygiéniques, le linge de maison, les bonnets de douche et les sous-vêtements devenaient des matériaux hautement artistiques. Tous les médias s’y intéressèrent, en réalisant souvent des reportages à sensation ; l’exposition apportait la preuve que l’art féministe avait un public nombreux et passionné » Peggy Phelan
Womanhouse est un documentaire historique prodigieux sur l’un des événements culturels féministes les plus importants des années 70 aux Etats-Unis. Il ne se limite pas à être le témoin de plusieurs performances fameuses telles Waiting (Attente) de Faith Wilding ou Cock and cunt play (La pièce de la bite et de la chatte) de Judy Chicago, ainsi que des différentes pièces de l’exposition-maison Nurturant Kitchen (Cuisine nourricière), Menstruation Bathroom (La salle de bains des règles), Nightmare Bathroom (La salle de bains des cauchemars) ou encore de l’installation Linen Closet (Placard à linge), mais retrace également les ateliers de prises de conscience collectives, les interactions avec le public, et toute l’énergie de cette époque. (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

MIKONO
de Jean-Michel Humeau (1978, 11min)
/ En sa présence

« Portrait imaginaire d’un CRS, le brigadier Mikono. Les images des affrontements du quartier Latin en mai 1968 et le commentaire qui tourne en dérision les forces de l’ordre font de ce film une réussite de subversion et d’ironie. » (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

jean-michel-humeau-mikono-2.jpg
 

LA VRAIE VIE EST AILLEURS
de Roger Danel (1968, 15min)

la-vraie-vie-est-ailleurs-de-roger-danel-1.jpg« Vie quotidienne. Machine. Machine à habiter. Machine à transporter. Machine à consommer. Machine à crever. Consommation du spectacle. Spectacle de la consommation. Obsession. » (Gérard Jeanpierre, extrait) « L’idée de ce film, conçu dès mars 1967, anticipait largement les évènements de mai-juin 1968, puisqu’il avait pour sujet la révolte de la jeunesse, notamment étudiante. On peut dire qu’il a été servi à point par les évènements, ou plutôt que ceux-ci ont permis au film de voir le jour, avec des manifestants qui n’étaient pas des figurants…
En 1967, le narrateur (Gérard Jeanpierre) militait dans un groupe « Recherche libertaire », auquel participait d’ailleurs Daniel Cohn-Bendit et qui éditait un petit journal du même nom. Bien entendu, l’explosion de la révolte étudiante n’a pas été sans incidence sur le contenu même du film, qu’elle a contribué à nourrir et à orienter. L’auteur s’est trouvé lui-même au cœur de l’action, tout en restant un témoin pacifique filmant les événements.(…)
Au-delà de l’événementiel, on note que la réflexion du narrateur s’élève remarquablement au-dessus de l’actualité et analyse en termes d’inconscient collectif la « névrose de béton » qui commençait alors à s’emparer de nos villes. Saluons cette vision prémonitoire dont on n’a pas fini, hélas, d’observer la justesse. » Roger Danel / (distribution : le peuple qui manque)

NEW OLD
de Pierre Clémenti (1979, 66min)

« Éphémère et flamboyant, directement lié à la révolution psychédélique et à la génération hippie, le cinéma underground français (ou comme on aimait dire à l’époque, cinéma souterrain), a surgi dans l’effervescence contre-culturelle qui annonçait et préparait les chamboulements de Mai 68. Cinoche de protestation, de contestation, de provocation, de refus. Agit-prop et poésie brute. » Jean Pierre Bouyxou
« Les films de Pierre Clémenti convertissent l’énergie politique de la révolution en substrats cinématographiques. A une poétique révolutionnaire Clémenti associe une politique des formes et du montage. Le contenu libertaire épouse ici une apologie de la liberté. » Jean Marie Samocki
«Chronique de cette fin de siècle… Témoignage de ma vie, forme de journal sur mes activités d’acteur avant et après 1973. Balbutiements, fulgurances, illuminations, intimité révélée qui entrouvre la fente radieuse de la conscience, long serpent multicolore, ruban se frayant un passage à l’appel des signes » Pierre Clémenti

new-old-de-pierre-clementi-3.jpgnew-old-de-pierre-clementi-4.jpgnew-old-de-pierre-clementi-5.jpg
 

« Cabine Vidéo » – Salle 1 – de 18h30 à 21h45

LES DIABLES DE BRION
de Françoise Janicot (1974, 20’)
les-diables-de-brion-francoise-janicot-1.jpgIssue d’une Lettre à Brion Gysin, cette bande vidéo est dédiée aux incantations magiques du peintre et écrivain de la Beat Generation, Brion Gysin, inventeur avec William Burroughs du cut-up littéraire. Alors qu’en 1974, Brion Gysin se fait opérer d’un cancer à Londres, Françoise Janicot, Bernard Heidsieck, et des amis poètes et musiciens décident de lui envoyer cette lettre « sonore ». « Réalisée sur le fameux revox A 700 d’Heidsieck, elle prononce, à plusieurs voix, s’interférant, se répondant, les nom et prénom de Gysin. Envoi au sens premier, hommage, spéciale dédicace, que dire d’autre que le nom de son destinataire, dégorgé, catapulté en un seul souffle d’énergies multiples. Pièce polyphonique, cette lettre est une partition vitale pulsée par l’amitié. Brion Gysin sut l’entendre, il eut une rémission de dix années ».
Le ressassement stroboscopique des mots, leur psalmodie infinie et la présence fantomatique du poète font de cette bande un classique de la psychédélie. (distribution : le peuple qui manque)
« Cabine Vidéo » –  Salle 2 – de 18h30 à 21h45

IXE
de Lionel Soukaz (1980, 48min)
/ En sa présence

Ixe, un film dédié à la loi du même nom. « Ixe, comme un cri, une blessure, est un film implosé, crucifié, conçu pour être projeté sur deux écrans simultanément. C’est un écartèlement aux quatre coins cardinaux, aux quatre extrémités : la guerre, le sexe, la religion et la drogue. ». Guy Hocquenghem.
« Lionel Soukaz est un auteur rare. Il filme sans tabou, sans concession. Enfant de mai 68, il est celui de la libération sexuelle, du plaisir de vivre avec excès ses désirs, la drogue, le sexe. Témoin sensible de son temps, celui qui filme ses amis, Guy Hocquenghem, Copi et les autres moins célèbres, filme aussi la tragédie du sida, des réunions d’Act Up aux murs blancs de l’hôpital. Pour parler de son style, son ton, son ami, le philosophe René Schérer, évoque « une vitalité désespérée », Nicole Brenez, combattante du cinéma expérimental, qualifie son cinéma « d’éros politique ». » Aude Lavigne, France culture, 2002

ixe-de-lionel-soukaz-2.jpg
ixe-de-lionel-soukaz-1.jpg


Le cinéma ne s’encadre pas, ne se muséifie pas,

il est toujours vivant, il garde tout, il ne perd rien.

Remerciements : Le lieu unique (Virginie Pringuet), Jean-Jacques Lebel, Jean-Michel Humeau, Françoise Janicot, Roger Danel, Danielle Jaeggi, Lionel Soukaz, Tripak, Balthazar Clémenti, Johanna Demetrakas, Prospective Image (Marie-Pierre Lemaître), Thirld World Newsreel (Roselly Torres), 360°et même plus (Ivora Cuzak), Collectif Jeune Cinéma (Violeta Salvatierra), Centre Pompidou (Gilles Bion, Alexis Constantin), Olivier Pierre.

Programme complet de la Nuit 68

Last Tweets

  • RT @EspaceKhiasma: Lundi 12/12 20h K.Quiros & A.Imhoff @peuplequimanque "Les Impatients" Chicago, Paris, Dakar.. Guetter de nvx avenirs htt…- jeudi 8 Déc - 3:27
  • RT @m_nachtergael: @m_nachtergael j'espère lire bientôt les potentiels du temps... C'est déjà ça!- lundi 14 Nov - 1:11
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, Jour 1, Nov 16. Quintane, Latour, Scherer, @jamieallen , Aït-Touati, @JacobLund8, @olgaschu. Art, politics, public…- lundi 14 Nov - 1:08
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, nov 17. Jour 2. Décoloniser le présent 1. Afrogalactisme. Vergès. Sundaram. Kiwanga. Cusset. Marboeuf. Sadallah. R…- lundi 14 Nov - 1:08
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, jour 4. Hétérochronies. Potentiels. Syrie. Chicago. @pottebonneville. Wedeen. @CamilledeToledo. @julietaaranda. @w- lundi 14 Nov - 1:08
  • RT @LRuffel: Theory Now, jour 3. Décoloniser le présent 2. Accélération. Engagement . Attia. Rosler. @aavarmen. Slavs and Tatars. @peuplequ- lundi 14 Nov - 1:07
  • Curating as Rhapsody, conférence de Kantuta Quirós et Aliocha Imhoff, Université de Barcelone, demain à 18h… https://t.co/ih2KD1qFhK- mardi 8 Nov - 11:22