The Trial
of Fiction
Mock Trial of the Border between Fact and Fiction
As part of Nuit Blanche 2017
When : the Saturday October 7, 2017
Where: in the audience room of the Council of Paris in the Paris Town Hall
Entrance on 5 rue Lobau, 75004, Paris

Speakers
Live Streaming / Replay the Trial
Staff and thanks
Practical informations
Some pictures of the trial



The Trial of Fiction

A mock trial of the border between fact and fiction

When: Saturday, October 7th, from 7pm (sharp) to 2am
Where: in the audience room of the Council of Paris in the Paris Town Hall
Entrance on 5 rue Lobau, 75004, Paris
Free entrance and live streaming online (click here)

Curated by Aliocha Imhoff and Kantuta Quirós
Scientists Council and lawyers
: Françoise Lavocat, Alison James, Alexandre Gefen, Laurent de Sutter, Dorian Astor, Fabien Danesi

Commissioned by Nuit Blanche 2017 (curated by Charlotte Laubard).

In this time of “alternative facts” championed by Trump administration and of general use of storytelling by the political class, in this time of indictment of many writers charged with muddling reality with fiction, in this time of emergence of “new realists” in the philosophical field, in this time of necessity to return to the real, as incessantly reiterated in public debate, a mock trial, under the form freely inspired by a criminal trial, proposes to deliberate and to discuss the necessity and the reality of a border between fact and fiction.

These last year have indeed been, once again, the scene of many debates and polemics concerning the porosity of the border between fact and fiction. Remember for instance the intense controversy surrounding Yannick Haenel’s novel, Jan Karski, following the one around Jonathan Littell and his Bienveillantes, bringing back the shadow of epistemological debates over the writing of history as much as those on the knowledge of literature, and resuming with greater intensity the quarrel of historiographic narrativism led by historian Carlo Ginzburg against Hayden White, in particular. Take note, as well, of trials for fact-checking against authors of fiction, like Edouard Louis – who keeps on repeating that “everything is true” despite the fictional labelling “novel” stamped on the cover of his works -, against autofiction and the captivating affair Camille Laurens/Marie Darieussecq – the former accused the latter of “psycological plagiarism”- or even trials for character’s rights (Christine Angot, Marcella Iacub and Régis Jauffret, amongst many others), as evidence of the worrisome weakening of the border between fact and fictions on the one side, and of increased agency of literature, and of her action on reality, on the other. Take note, in the journalistic field, confronted with the proliferation of fake news, of its resorting, of course necessary, to fact-checkers – Decodex for le Monde, Desintox for Liberation, or in 2009 already, of PolitiFact as Pulitzer Prize laureate – which place the Fact, in the line of Frederic Lordon’s denunciation, as the horizon of journalism rather than its starting point, ratifying the confirmation of a post-political journalism. Take note, in the philosophical field, of the grand return to realism, with the “speculative realism” initiated in France by Quentin Meillassoux, with Tristan Garcia’s realism “of things”, with the “contextual” realism of Jocelyn Benoist, and many others (Markus Gabriel, Maurizio Ferraris, Jane Bennett, etc.) which, as another contemporary realist, Pascal Engel, would diagnose, coalesced at the same time against the fear of “having lost the world” and in reaction against the alleged panfictionalist drifts according to which reality as a whole would be nothing but a social construct and, ultimately, fiction – from Baudrillard (“The Gulf War did not take place”) to Nietzsche (“There are no facts only interpretations”), passing by Derrida or Lacan (“Truth has the structure of fiction”).

In 2016, the literature theorist Françoise Lavocat published « Fact and Fiction. For a border » (Seuil), in which she claimed the necessity to defend this border whose reputation is to be definitively confused – from cosplay and others life-sized and role playing games to documentary cinema, to factualist literature, to contemporary simulation forms, to theater without theater and so on.

What is left, in this context, of deconstruction, of post-structuralist panfictionalism and of radical constructivism, what is left of the performativity of stories and of counter-fictions, of the cognitive value of fictionality and of the legacy of postcolonial epistemologies that re-evaluate myths and fabulation, what remains, finally, of narrativist, fictionnalist and experimental historiography? Should we then proclaim, collectively, the necessity of distinct cognitive regimes; should we rescue the border between fact and fiction?

Françoise Lavocat, Alison James and Alexandre Gefen (literature theorists) will lay charges against those who, for decades, have been taking part in this wide blurring of fact and fiction. Laurent de Sutter, Dorian Astor and Fabien Danesi (philosophers and essayists) will speak for the defence.

Thus, the trial will oppose the “differentialists” (which the defence would rather call, less kindly, “segregationists”) to the “integrationists” (which the prosecution would rather call, more belligerently, “confusionnists”).

The lawyers of defence and prosecution will be supported by as many witnesses and experts called to testify as there are voices raised to give thought to this issue which exceeds current controversies. Among them, Pascal Engel (philosopher), Claudine Tiercelin (philosopher), Laurent Binet (writer), Anna Arzoumanov (literature theorist), Mathieu Simonet (lawyer and writer), Maylis de Kerangal (writer), Romain Bertrand (historian), Dominique Viart (literature theorist), Nancy Murzili (literature theorist), Quentin Deluermoz (historian), Thomas Mondémé (literature theorist), Camille de Toledo (writer), Nadia Yala Kisukidi (philosopher), Jacques Rancière (philosopher, subject to availability), Eric Chauvier (writer et anthropologist), Yannick Haenel (writer, subject to availability), Pacôme Thiellement (essayist, subject to availability), Olivier Caïra (sociologist), Jason Karaïndros & Jakob Gautel (artists), Dominique Cardon (sociologist), Pascale Piolino (neuroscientist), Alexis Constantin (filmmaker).

The court will be presided by Caroline Broué (France Culture) and Mathieu Potte-Bonneville (philosopher) ; Aliocha Imhoff and Kantuta Quirós will be assessors, Ella Bellone will impersonate the court bailiff. The jury will be made of participants of the Nuit Blanche.

The prosecution team has established five counts of indictment, that will organise the trial into sections and will constitute its main plan.

Le procès de la fiction, le peuple qui manque, Nuit Blanche, 2017

The Trial of Fiction, le peuple qui manque, Nuit Blanche, 2017, courtesy Marc Dommage

*

Extract of the press release (FR only)

Last Tweets

Le Procès
de la Fiction
Procès fictif de la frontière entre fait et fiction
Dans le cadre de la Nuit Blanche 2017
Quand : le samedi 7 octobre 2017 de 19h à 2h du matin
: dans la salle du Conseil de Paris, Hôtel de Ville
Entrée par le 5, rue Lobau, 75004 Paris

Invités
Live Streaming / Revoir le procès
Equipe et remerciements
Informations pratiques
Quelques photos du procès



Le procès de la fiction

Un procès fictif de la frontière entre fait et fiction

Quand : le samedi 7 octobre de 19h (précises) à 2h du matin.
 :     Dans la salle du Conseil de Paris, Hôtel de Ville
Entrée par le 5, rue Lobau, 75004 Paris
Entrée libre et en streaming en direct sur Internet (cliquez ici)
L’entrée du public se fera à 18H30. Nous recommandons donc de venir en amont.

Une proposition d’Aliocha Imhoff
et Kantuta Quirós
Conseil scientifique et avocats 
: Françoise Lavocat, Alison James, Alexandre Gefen, Laurent de Sutter, Dorian Astor, Fabien Danesi.

Production Nuit Blanche 2017 (sous le commissariat général de Charlotte Laubard).

À l’heure des “faits alternatifs” prônés par l’administration Trump et de l’usage généralisé du storytelling par la classe politique, à l’heure de la mise en accusation et la judiciarisation de nombreux écrivains auxquels on reproche de trop mélanger réalité et fiction, à l’heure de l’émergence des “nouveaux réalistes” dans le champ philosophique, à l’heure d’un nécessaire retour au réel, sans cesse réaffirmé dans le débat public, un procès fictif, sous la forme librement inspirée d’un procès d’assises, propose de débattre et de délibérer sur la nécessité et la réalité d’une frontière entre fait et fiction.

Ces dernières années ont été, en effet, une nouvelle fois le théâtre de nombreux débats et polémiques sur la porosité de la frontière entre fait et fiction. Que l’on se rappelle par exemple les vives controverses autour des livres de Yannick Haenel, Jan Karski et de Jonathan Littell, Les Bienveillantes, qui réouvraient le spectre des débats épistémologiques sur l’écriture de l’histoire autant que sur les savoirs de la littérature et ravivaient de plus belle la querelle du narrativisme historiographique menée par l’historien Carlo Ginzburg à l’encontre d’Hayden White, notamment. Que l’on prenne acte, également, des procès en fact-checking d’écrivains de fictions tels qu’Edouard Louis – qui ne cesse d’affirmer que « tout est vrai », en dépit du prédicat fictionnel « roman » apposé sur ses ouvrages -, ceux de l’autofiction et la passionnante affaire Camille Laurens/Marie Darrieussecq – la première accusant la seconde de « plagiat psychique » – ou encore ceux du droit des personnages (procès de Christine Angot, Marcella Iacub, Régis Jauffret, parmi tant d’autres), comme autant de témoins d’une inquiétante fragilisation de la frontière entre fait et fiction pour les uns, d’une agentivité accrue de la littérature et de son action sur le réel pour les autres. Que l’on prenne acte, dans le champ du journalisme, face à la multiplication des fake-news, du recours, sans doute nécessaire, aux fact-checkersDecodex pour le Monde, Desintox pour Libération, ou bien encore dès 2009, PolitiFact alors lauréat du Prix Pulitzer – mais qui place, désormais, comme aura pu le dénoncer Frédéric Lordon, le Fait, comme l’horizon du journalisme et non plus comme ce qui le précède – signant la confirmation d’un journalisme post-politique. Que l’on prenne acte, dans le champ philosophique, du grand retour du réalisme, du « réalisme spéculatif » initié en France par Quentin Meillassoux et ses émules anglo-saxons, du réalisme « des choses » de Tristan Garcia, du réalisme « contextuel » de Jocelyn Benoist, et d’autres encore (Markus Gabriel, Maurizio Ferraris, Jane Bennett, etc.) et qui, comme le diagnostiquerait un autre réaliste contemporain, Pascal Engel, se sont formés à la fois contre la peur d’avoir « perdu le monde » et en réaction aux supposées dérives panfictionalistes pour qui toute la réalité ne serait que construction sociale et, in fine, fiction – de Baudrillard (« Le guerre du Golfe n’a pas eu lieu ») à Nietzsche (« Il n’y a pas de faits, il n’y a que des interprétations ») en passant par Derrida ou Lacan (« La vérité a structure de fiction »).

Death of Evidence march, Ottawa, 2012

En 2016, la théoricienne de la littérature Françoise Lavocat publiait « Fait et Fiction. Pour une frontière » (Seuil), ouvrage dans lequel celle-ci affirmait la nécessité de défendre cette frontière dont la réputation est d’être définitivement brouillée au coeur des pratiques contemporaines, que l’on pense aux cosplays et autres jeux de rôle grandeur nature, au cinéma documentaire, à la littérature factualiste, aux formes de simulation contemporaine, au théâtre sans théâtre, etc.

Dans ce contexte, quels sont les héritages de la Déconstruction, du panfictionnalisme et du constructivisme radical, que reste-t-il, plus encore, de la performativité des récits et des contre-fictions, de la valeur cognitive de la fictionalité ou encore de l’héritage des épistémologies postcoloniales qui ont réévalué la valeur des mythes et de la fabulation, que reste-t-il des historiographies narrativiste, fictionnaliste et expérimentale et de toutes ces méthodologies faisant la belle part à une histoire des possibles ? Nous faudrait-il désormais affirmer, collectivement, la nécessité de régime cognitifs distincts, nous faudrait-il sauver la frontière entre fait et fiction ?

L’Accusation sera portée par Françoise Lavocat, Alison James et Alexandre Gefen (théoriciens de la littérature) contre ceux qui, depuis plusieurs décennies, travaillent à ce grand brouillage entre fait et fiction. La Défense sera représentée par Laurent de Sutter, Dorian Astor et Fabien Danesi (philosophes et essayistes).

Le procès opposera ainsi les « différentialistes » (que la défense appellerait plutôt, moins gentiment, les « ségrégationnistes ») aux ​ « intégrationnistes » (que l’accusation appellerait plutôt, plus méchamment, les « confusionnistes »).  

Avocats de la défense et de l’accusation s’adjoignent de nombreux témoins et experts appelés à la barre comme autant de voix qui s’élèvent pour penser cette question qui dépasse les controverses actuelles. Parmi eux, Claudine Tiercelin (philosophe), Laurent Binet (écrivain)​, Maylis de Kerangal (écrivaine), Yannick Haenel (écrivain, sous réserve), Romain Bertrand (historien), Jacques Rancière (philosophe, sous réserve),  Eric Chauvier (écrivain et anthropologue), Pascal Engel (philosophe), Pacôme Thiellement (écrivain), Mathieu Simonet (avocat et écrivain), Nancy Murzili (théoricienne de littérature), Quentin Deluermoz (historien), Thomas Mondémé (théoricien de littérature), Camille de Toledo (écrivain), Nadia Yala Kisukidi (philosophe), Dominique Viart (théoricien de littérature), Anna Arzoumanov (théoricienne de littérature), Dominique Cardon (sociologue), Olivier Caïra (sociologue), Pascale Piolino (neuroscientifique). Avec la participation de Jason Karaïndros & Jakob Gautel (artistes) et Alexis Constantin (cinéaste).

La cour sera présidée par Caroline Broué (productrice à France Culture) et Mathieu Potte-Bonneville (philosophe), Aliocha Imhoff et Kantuta Quirós seront assesseurs des juges, Ella Bellone incarnera l’huissière de justice. Le jury sera composé de participants à la Nuit Blanche.

Le procès de la fiction, le peuple qui manque, Nuit Blanche, 2017

Le procès de la fiction, le peuple qui manque, Nuit Blanche, 2017, courtesy Marc Dommage

*

Extraits de la revue de presse

Sur les réseaux sociaux, quelques commentaires publics
« Extraordinaire projet ; tellement intelligent (et drôle) » (Jean-Marie Durand, journaliste)
« Fleuve, magistral et jouissif » (Guillaume Aubry, artiste)
« Un dispositif brillant » (Frank Smith, poète et artiste)
« Une œuvre en soi » (Jean-Charles Massera, artiste et écrivain)
« Carrément jouissif ce thriller intello » (Alain Umhauer, acteur)
« Il n’y a pas beaucoup de rendez-vous intellectuels qui vous tiennent ainsi éveillés, et je crois qu’on peut saluer ce qui a véritablement été un événement. » (Vincent Message, écrivain)
« Ludique sans être cabotin, intense sans être pesant, stimulant sans être écœurant, éprouvant sans être soporifique… » (Jérémie Desjardins, programmateur)

Last Tweets