Panorama of the feminist video-performance
contemporary Latin-American


: This is an automatic translation !

logo_pompidou.jpgJune 17, 2009


mamanomelodijo-1-2.jpg Art-action. An art of resistance and insubordination, intrication of body and policy, seized, since the years 1960, the Latin-American continent. From there, origin blossoming, mainly since the Eighties, of a very great number of performeuses artists and vidéastes, working since the same place of a feminist of art, integral work with their work the dimension of the kind, sexuality and cultural identity. This meeting is the occasion to show an exceptional outline of this particularly long-lived, rich contemporary scene and explosive of the vidéoperformance Latin-American artists, particularly fertile in Central America (Guatemala) and Bolivia.


A program presented and conceived by Kantuta Quirós and Aliocha Imhoff, founders of the structure of programming and film distribution the le peuple qui manque. In the presence of the artists María Adela Díaz and Sandra Monterroso. 

regina-jose-galindo-quien.jpgRegina José Galindo
Poetess, vidéaste and performeuse, born in 1974, Regina Jose Galindo appear since the middle of the Nineties like one of the Guatemalan artists emblématiques of its generation, prize winner of the Lion of Gold to the Biennale de Venise in 2005. During its discussed performances, its body is the vehicle by which she denounces the political conflicts and is made clarification of the violence made to the women.

¿Quien puede borrar las huellas ? (2003, 2’, coul., son.) / Mientras, ellos siguen libres (2007, 2’, coul., son.) /  Perra (2005, 5’, coul., son.)

deformacion-33-sandra-monterosso.jpgSandra Monterroso
The actions of Sandra Monterroso, performeuse and vidéaste Guatemalan born in 1974, are the place of a conflict between emancipation and cultural tradition. Its vidéoperformances is the trace of a car-catch of conscience, a work of sabotage of the social regulations and passage between several worlds.
Deformación # 33 (2007, 5’, coul., son.)
Interview with Sandra Monterroso, blog elles@centrepompidou

maria-diaz-borderline.jpgMaría Adela Díaz
Born in Guatemala in 1973, living in Los Angeles, vidéaste and performeuse, María Adela Díaz puts in scene its autobiographical experiment of migrant without paper in California.
Borderline (2005, 2’, coul, son.) (distribution: le peuple qui manque)

acciones-mujeres-creando.jpgMujeres Creando
The feminist collective Bolivian Mujeres creando has carried out for more than fifteen years, an enthralling development between urban, critical intervention radical, irrepressible Utopia, celebration ostentation of the body, the pleasure, the daily newspaper, the powers of the imaginary one. Graffiteuses and vidéastes, they reject any separation of art, their actions of street drawing a single ethical posture in its kind of agitatrices, in fight against patriarchal oppressions, the colonial diagrams, the neoliberal policies.  
Mujeres Creando – Acciones – Creando Mujeres – sélection (2001,    vost, 24’)
Mujeres Creando & Maria Galindo – Mama no me lo dijo – sélection (2003, vost, 30’)


The National museum of modern art/Centre of industrial creation proposes a regular appointment (every Wednesday with 19:00) heading FILM.
Each one of these programs is the occasion to put in prospect the cinematographic collections for the Museum while wavering between cinema experimental, documentary, film of artist and video.
Conceived as a critical space, “Film” takes the form of monographic meetings sets of themes or, freehands and invitations suggested with speakers of different backgrounds likely to throw a new glance on the history and the practices of the noncommercial cinema.

In echo with the fixing elles@centrepompidou (a presentation of the collections of the National museum of modern art devoted to the artists women, from May 27, 2009), the cinema of the Museum proposes a cycle devoted to the work of women scenario writers and vidéastes which marked the history of the images moving. It invites within its go FILM, the structure of programming and film distribution le peuple qui manque, working between art and policy, and who will propose this exceptional panorama of the Latin-American contemporary feminist video-performance.  

Centre Pompidou
75191 Paris Cedex 4
Cinéma 2, Niveau -1
métro Rambuteau ou Hôtel de Ville
6€ / cheap rate 4€ / free with the pass,
within the limit of the reserved places (if not, 4€)

Curators and texts : Kantuta Quiros & Aliocha Imhoff (le peuple qui manque)
Thanks: The artists, Centre Pompidou (Philippe-Alain Michaud, Isabelle Ribadeau-Dumas, Marie Canet), prometeogallery di Ida Pisani (Cristina Rota).

Last Tweets

ART-ACTION FEMINISTE

Panorama de la vidéo-performance féministe
contemporaine latino-américaine

MUJERES CREANDO, REGINA JOSE GALINDO,
SANDRA MONTERROSO, MARIA ADELA DIAZ

logo_pompidou.jpg17 JUIN 2009

19H, CENTRE POMPIDOU, CINEMA 2

mamanomelodijo-1-2.jpg Art-action. Un art de résistance et d’insubordination, intrication de corps et de politique, s’est emparé, depuis les années 1960, du continent latino-américain. De là, s’origine l’éclosion, principalement depuis les années 80, d’un très grand nombre d’artistes performeuses et vidéastes, œuvrant depuis le même lieu d’un travail féministe de l’art, intégrant à leur démarche les dimensions du genre, de la sexualité et de l’identité culturelle. Cette séance est l’occasion de montrer un aperçu de cette scène contemporaine particulièrement riche et vivace de la vidéoperformance, singulièrement féconde en Amérique centrale (Guatemala) et en Bolivie.

Un programme présenté et conçu par Kantuta Quirós et Aliocha Imhoff, curateurs et fondateurs de la plate-forme et structure de distribution de films le peuple qui manque. Séance en présence des artistes Sandra Monterroso et María Adela Díaz.

regina-jose-galindo-quien.jpgRegina José Galindo
Poétesse, vidéaste et performeuse, née en 1974, Regina José Galindo figure depuis le milieu des années 90 comme une des artistes guatémaltèques les plus emblématiques de sa génération, lauréate du Lion d’Or à la Biennale de Venise en 2005. Au cours de ses performances controversées, son corps est le véhicule par lequel elle dénonce les conflits politiques et se fait explicitation de la violence faite aux femmes.

¿Quien puede borrar las huellas ? (2003, 2’, coul., son.) / Mientras, ellos siguen libres (2007, 2’, coul., son.) /  Perra (2005, 5’, coul., son.)

deformacion-33-sandra-monterosso.jpgSandra Monterroso
Les actions de Sandra Monterroso, performeuse et vidéaste guatémaltèque née en 1974, sont le lieu d’un conflit entre émancipation et tradition culturelle. Ses vidéoperformances sont la trace d’une auto-prise de conscience, d’un travail de sabotage des prescriptions sociales et du passage entre plusieurs mondes.
Deformación # 33 (2007, 5’, coul., son.)

Entretien avec Sandra Monterroso, blog elles@centrepompidou

maria-diaz-borderline.jpgMaría Adela Díaz
Née au Guatemala en 1973, vivant à Los Angeles, vidéaste et performeuse, María Adela Díaz met en scène son expérience autobiographique de migrante sans papier en Californie.
Borderline (2005, 2’, coul, son.) (distribution: le peuple qui manque)

acciones-mujeres-creando.jpgMujeres Creando
Le collectif féministe bolivien Mujeres creando mène depuis plus de quinze ans, une passionnante élaboration entre intervention urbaine, critique radicale, utopie irrépressible, célébration faste du corps, du plaisir, du quotidien, des puissances de l’imaginaire. Graffiteuses et vidéastes, elles rejettent toute séparation de l’art, leurs actions de rue dessinant une posture éthique unique en son genre d’agitatrices, en lutte contre les oppressions patriarcales, les schémas coloniaux, les politiques néolibérales.  
Mujeres Creando – Acciones – Creando Mujeres – sélection (2001,    vost, 24’)
Mujeres Creando & Maria Galindo – Mama no me lo dijo – sélection (2003, vost, 30’)

FILM   

Le Musée national d’art moderne / Centre de création industrielle propose un rendez-vous régulier (tous les mercredis à 19h) intitulé FILM.
Chacun de ces programmes est l’occasion de mettre en perspective les collections cinématographiques du Musée en louvoyant entre cinéma expérimental, documentaire, film d’artiste et vidéo.
Conçu comme un espace critique, « Film » prend la forme de séances thématiques ou monographiques, de cartes blanches et d’invitations proposées à des intervenants d’horizons divers susceptibles de jeter un regard nouveau sur l’histoire et les pratiques du cinéma non commercial.

En écho à l’accrochage elles@centrepompidou (une présentation des collections du Musée national d’art moderne consacrée aux artistes femmes, à partir du 27 mai 2009), le cinéma du Musée  propose un cycle consacré à l’œuvre de femmes cinéastes e
t vidéastes qui ont marqué l’histoire des images en mouvement. Il invite au sein de son rendez-vous FILM, la structure de programmation et de distribution de films le peuple qui manque, qui proposera ce panorama exceptionnel de la vidéo-performance féministe contemporaine latino-américaine.  

logo_pompidou.jpgINFORMATIONS PRATIQUES
Centre Pompidou
75191 Paris Cedex 4
Cinéma 2, Niveau -1
métro Rambuteau ou Hôtel de Ville
Tarifs
6€ / tarif réduit 4€ / gratuit avec le laissez-passer,
dans la limite des places réservées (sinon, 4€)
www.centrepompidou.fr/evenements

Programmation et textes : Kantuta Quiros & Aliocha Imhoff (le peuple qui manque)
Remerciements: Les artistes, Centre Pompidou (Philippe-Alain Michaud, Isabelle Ribadeau-Dumas, Marie Canet), prometeogallery di Ida Pisani (Cristina Rota), Ambassade de Bolivie en France, Ambassade du Guatemala en France.

Last Tweets

  • Art is Not the Enemy. Graphics of the Tricontinental Dissents une petite sélection d'affiches de l'OSPAAAL que nous… https://t.co/7OCePIsZHI- samedi 27 Oct - 5:28
  • Interview d'Aliocha Imhoff et Kantuta Quiros par Amanda Ferrada pour la revue suédoise Feministisk Perspektiv, et à… https://t.co/PUweGhQlpX- samedi 27 Oct - 2:08
  • Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós will speak tomorrow at the great symposium "Decolonizing the Curatorial" in Konstha… https://t.co/jepI4B9UHi- jeudi 20 Sep - 12:19
  • RT @diacritik: Pour la libération immédiate d’Ashraf Fayadh https://t.co/W7UWMpCPqk https://t.co/9iKbKpv2O5- lundi 10 Sep - 8:01
  • RT @kunstkritikk: #Kritik Lars-Erik Hjertström Lappalainen om ’A Debt of Times’ av Le Peuple qui manque på Konsthall C, Stockholm: https://…- mercredi 5 Sep - 12:10
  • Generous review by Lars-Erik Hjertström Lappalainen of our exhibition A Debt of times at Konsthall C ! Thanks to Ku… https://t.co/ELmHPxKBbM- mercredi 5 Sep - 9:21
  • Amis genevois, nous présenterons demain à 18h30 au Centre d’art contemporain de Genève notre film en cours Les Impa… https://t.co/BOxb0IslCy- lundi 27 Août - 9:31
  • Opening tonight at 6pm Konsthall C, Stockholm of our exhibition A Debt of Times, an ongoing research on temporal e… https://t.co/HCgKDELYZn- vendredi 24 Août - 7:13
  • RT @Feux_Noirs: Excellent ! https://t.co/v0ySVJxLTg- samedi 14 Juil - 11:10