Insurgent bodies!
Berlin Underground 80

Friday April 3, 2009 – 20h30
Maison Pop’, Montreuil
FREE ENTRY

Attention : This is an automatic translation !

At the end of the Seventies and beginning of 80’s, experimental scenario writers west-Berliners resulting from the movement Alle Super Der Macht 8 (Super 8 Power!) invent a punk cinema in super 8, attacking itself in turn with American capitalism and Communism, with in backdrop the ridiculous partition of Germany of the time by the Berlin Wall.
This movement ignored in France thus gives birth to an imagery single, virtuoso and oneiric. A style; an attitude where is explored, in the middle of Berlin underground, poetic of the city, sometimes feverish, melancholic person or poisonous. Resulting from the Berliner avant-gardes and the culture of the clubs and the night, this cinema sumptuous and blazing Marie youth revolted with post-punk strident, the synthetic music and an air jazz, calling upon the experimental techniques (scraping, painting on film, assembly very rate/rhythm) which they transcend with vitality and freedom of creation. Of this bringing together between scenario writers, artists and musicians Berliner, is born alchemy very particular, favourable with all experiments visual, precursory of clip and seizing of manner acute energies of counter-culture, which makes these years, which are not however any more those of the revolutions moving, of the rebellious years.

berlin80-2.jpg  berlin80-3.jpg  berlin80-4.jpg

Preceded by

The Wall
by Gordon Matta-Clark
(1976-2007, 15 min)

"This newly assembled work is a rare document of a 1976 Matta-Clark performance in Berlin. The piece begins with the following statement: "In 1976, as part of the Akademie der Kunst and Berliner Festwochen exhibition ‘Soho in Berlin,’ Gordon Matta-Clark went to Germany with the intention of blowing up a section of the Berlin Wall. Dissuaded by friends from such a suicidal action, the result was the following performance." The film records Matta-Clark as he stencils ‘Made in America’ on the Wall, affixes commercial advertisements over graffiti, and has a run-in with the police. A remarkable record of a little-known Matta-Clark performance, this work is also a historical time capsule of a political and physical landscape that no longer exists." 

BERLIN SUPER 80

A selection resulting from the DVD, Berlin Super 80, panorama of the scene of avant-garde of Berlin of the end of the year 70 and 80, published by Monitorpop and distributed in France by Lowave.

hormelbuhler-geld.jpg« Between the end of the 1970s and the fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989, a vast number of films were produced in and about West Berlin, dealing with the ambivalent realities of the enclosed city. Highly subsidized by the Federal Republic of Germany as a "shop window of the Free West", West Berlin had become an island, an inverted fortress for all those who saught to experience themselves without economical pressures, and to express themselves by all means. It wasn’t about devoting oneself to the World Revolution anymore, but to implement alternative life styles and ways of housing, giving rise to social resistance, strident underground cultures and sexual border-crossing. Pessimism and apocalyptic moods, not least driven by the enhanced arms race and nuclear threats of the period, mixed with extravagance, punk and queerness. » Florian Wüst, curator of the exhibition SCREAMING CITY: WEST BERLIN 1980s

Yana Yo – Sax (1983, 6′)
Markgraf & Wolkenstein – Craex Apart (1983, 5′)
Brand & Maschmann – And then ? (1981, 3′)
Christoph Doering – 3302- Taxi Film (1979, 14′)
Maye & Rendschmid – Without love there is no death (1980, 5′)
Walter Gramming – Hammer und Sichel (1978, 5′)
Hormel/Bühler– Money (Malaria Clip) (1982, 4′)
Notorische Reflexe – Fragment Video (1983, 12′)
Ika Schier – Wedding Night (1982, 4′)

berlin80-5.jpg berlin80-7.jpg berlin80-wedding.jpg


Texts and curating
: Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros

Last Tweets

  • RT @editions_PUF: Face à l’urgence climatique, passer de la démocratie à la biocratie ? 📻 A écouter : Kantuta Quiros et Aliocha Imhoff (@pe- Tuesday 21 Jun - 1:05pm
  • RT @LaGrandeTable: Toutes les voix peuvent-elles avoir la parole ? Dans "Qui parle ? (pour les non-humains)", les curateurs Aliocha Imhoff…- Thursday 16 Jun - 4:38pm
  • Nous serons heureux-se de vous retrouver aux @beauxartsparis pour une présentation de notre livre Qui parle ? (… https://t.co/VxwQUIa01u- Thursday 5 May - 9:24am
  • chèrs et chers amies, retrouvons-nous pour le pot de lancement de 𝑸𝒖𝒊 𝒑𝒂𝒓𝒍𝒆 ? (@puf) ce mercredi 4 mai à 19H30 à la… https://t.co/Aoqya0QdYR- Friday 29 Apr - 1:12pm
  • RT @IziBook: #Écologieetenvironnement #LeFilCulture #Catastropheécologique Donner une voix à ce qui n'en a pas: Un fleuve a-t-il droit à la…- Tuesday 26 Apr - 8:13pm
  • RT @nekkostella: https://t.co/FJmVukUrz4 ⁦⁦@peuplequimanque⁩ À voir... plusieurs fois https://t.co/qsNUFF7hbS- Tuesday 26 Apr - 8:13pm
  • Notre livre 𝐐𝐮𝐢 𝐩𝐚𝐫𝐥𝐞 ? @editions_PUF est enfin en librairie ! ❤️❤️ Premières dates de présentation : 30 avril 2022… https://t.co/JhzWfkm95b- Thursday 21 Apr - 5:18am
  • L'Espace d'Art Contemporain de Royan consacre une exposition solo au peuple qui manque intitulé "Humain plus humain… https://t.co/DMhHwPS7FU- Thursday 7 Apr - 8:36am
  • Le 20 avril 2022 sortira notre prochain ouvrage 𝐐𝐮𝐢 𝐩𝐚𝐫𝐥𝐞 ? (𝐩𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐥𝐞𝐬 𝐧𝐨𝐧-𝐡𝐮𝐦𝐚𝐢𝐧𝐬) de Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quir… https://t.co/nZPzINho2U- Friday 1 Apr - 8:20am

Insurgés du corps !
Berlin Underground 80

Vendredi 3 Avril 2009 – 20h30
Maison Pop’ de Montreuil
ENTREE LIBRE

A la fin des années 70 et début des années 80, des cinéastes expérimentaux ouest-berlinois issus du mouvement Alle Macht der Super 8 (Le super 8 au pouvoir !) inventent un cinéma punk en super 8, s’attaquant tour à tour au capitalisme américain et au communisme, avec en toile de fond la ridicule partition de l’Allemagne de l’époque par le Mur de Berlin.
Ce mouvement méconnu en France donne ainsi naissance à une imagerie unique, virtuose et onirique. Un style ; une attitude où s’explore, au cœur du Berlin underground, une poétique de la ville, tantôt fébrile, mélancolique ou vénéneuse. Issu des avant-gardes berlinoises et de la culture des clubs et de la nuit, ce cinéma somptueux et flamboyant marie la jeunesse révoltée au post-punk strident, à la musique synthétique et à un jazz aérien, faisant appel aux techniques expérimentales (grattage, peinture sur pellicule, montage très rythmé) qu’ils transcendent avec vitalité et liberté de création. De ce rapprochement entre cinéastes, artistes et musiciens berlinois, naît une alchimie toute particulière, propice à toutes les expérimentations visuelles, précurseuses du clip et saisissant de manière aiguë les énergies de la contre-culture, qui font de ces années-là, qui ne sont pourtant plus celles des révolutions en marche, des années rebelles.

berlin80-2.jpg  berlin80-3.jpg  berlin80-4.jpg

Précédé de

The Wall
de Gordon Matta-Clark
(1976-2007, 15 min)

"The wall" est le montage d’un document rare de 1976 d’une performance à Berlin de Gordon Matta-Clark, le célèbre artiste franco-américain, connu pour ses interventions in situ et ses cuttings (coupes de bâtiments), une série de travaux dans des bâtiments abandonnés dans lesquels il a découpé et enlevé des morceaux de planchers, de plafonds, et de murs. « Anarchitecte », son travail comporte une dimension critique, influencée par le situationnisme. Dissuadé par ses amis de faire exploser une partie du Mur de Berlin, but avoué de son voyage à Berlin, Gordon Matta-Clark graffite sur le Mur « Made in America » et colle des affiches publicitaires sur les graffitis.

BERLIN SUPER 80

Une sélection issue du DVD, Berlin Super 80, panorama de la scène
d’avant-garde du Berlin de la fin des années 70 et  80, édité par
Monitorpop et distribué en France par Lowave
.

hormelbuhler-geld.jpg« Entre la fin des années 1970 et la chute du mur de Berlin en novembre 1989, de nombreux films ont été produits à Berlin-Ouest, traitant, de manière originale, de la vie au sein de cette ville encapsulée. Demeurant pour la République Fédérale d’Allemagne une vitrine du libéralisme, Berlin-Ouest est devenu un îlot pour tous ceux qui voulaient expérimenter par eux-mêmes sans pression économique et qui souhaitaient s’exprimer par tous les moyens. Le sujet n’était plus le monde en révolution mais l’implantation de nouveaux styles de vie alternatifs : entre les mouvements de squatters et le sentiment d’un futur impossible ; un mélange d’étrangeté, d’une pensée punk et de drogues. » Florian Wüst, Une ville gueule : Berlin-Ouest années 80

Yana Yo – Sax (1983, 6′)
Markgraf & Wolkenstein – Craex Apart (1983, 5′)
Brand & Maschmann – And then ? (1981, 3′)
Christoph Doering – 3302- Taxi Film (1979, 14′)
Maye & Rendschmid – Without love there is no death (1980, 5′)
Walter Gramming – Hammer und Sichel (1978, 5′)
Hormel/Bühler– Money (Malaria Clip) (1982, 4′)
Notorische Reflexe – Fragment Video (1983, 12′)
Ika Schier – Wedding Night (1982, 4′)

berlin80-5.jpg berlin80-7.jpg berlin80-wedding.jpg


Textes et programmation
: Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros

Last Tweets

  • Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós will speak tomorrow at the great symposium "Decolonizing the Curatorial" in Konstha… https://t.co/jepI4B9UHi- jeudi 20 Sep - 12:19
  • RT @diacritik: Pour la libération immédiate d’Ashraf Fayadh https://t.co/W7UWMpCPqk https://t.co/9iKbKpv2O5- lundi 10 Sep - 8:01
  • RT @kunstkritikk: #Kritik Lars-Erik Hjertström Lappalainen om ’A Debt of Times’ av Le Peuple qui manque på Konsthall C, Stockholm: https://…- mercredi 5 Sep - 12:10
  • Generous review by Lars-Erik Hjertström Lappalainen of our exhibition A Debt of times at Konsthall C ! Thanks to Ku… https://t.co/ELmHPxKBbM- mercredi 5 Sep - 9:21
  • Amis genevois, nous présenterons demain à 18h30 au Centre d’art contemporain de Genève notre film en cours Les Impa… https://t.co/BOxb0IslCy- lundi 27 Août - 9:31
  • Opening tonight at 6pm Konsthall C, Stockholm of our exhibition A Debt of Times, an ongoing research on temporal e… https://t.co/HCgKDELYZn- vendredi 24 Août - 7:13
  • RT @Feux_Noirs: Excellent ! https://t.co/v0ySVJxLTg- samedi 14 Juil - 11:10
  • Lancement demain de 14h à 20h du journal Dysfunction entièrement consacré au Procès de la fiction ! A hon books 74… https://t.co/skVSIpqa3K- vendredi 13 Juil - 7:32
  • Ce 21 mars, projection au Centre Pompidou, à 20h, d’un film de notre collection, « Free, white, and 21 », de Howard… https://t.co/xv20jZhFxl- vendredi 16 Mar - 6:58