Gender trouble
“Coyotes” and borders
Gender, migrations and artists of the performance in Central America.

Friday March 28, 2008 – 20h30
Maison Populaire, Montreuil

Attention : This is an automatic translation !

If the Central America is the place today of a patriarchate which is articulated from now on with the complexity of an economic situation of globalisation, within which the maquiladoras1, the migrations transfontalières with the United States and a féminicide2 which currently prevails in Center-America, play a determining role, it is also the matrix of new generations of artists whose work of performances conceals a rare force and intensity. By presenting the work of performeuses artists ignored in France, we wished more largely to make us the reflection of vitality and radicality of Latin-American feminism and the expressivity and power of evocation of its incarnated resistances.
1 Maquiladoras: companies of subcontracting of products high tech (data-processing, laboratories, etc), subsidiary of multinationals, delocalized in Mexican territory, calling upon a not qualified labour, mainly of the women with very low wages.
2 the Central America became the zone of the American continent most touched by the unpunished murders women. One speaks even about féminicide (genocide against the women)

Meeting in the presence of Jules Falquet – provided –
(specialist in the social movements and the feminist theories in Latin America)

 Who can erase the traces? Regina Jose Galindo

Poetess and performeuse, Regina Jose Galindo appears since the middle of the Nineties like one of the Guatemalan artists emblématiques of its generation. During its discussed performances, in which its own body is the vehicle by which she denounces the political and social conflicts, violence and the economic injustice, she pays homage to dead and disappeared from the civil war of years 80-90, and the genocidary dictatorship of the general Rios Montt. Its work is also a clarification of the violence made with the body of the women in the current world, and more specifically in Latin America, with the féminicide which has course in Central America, the survalorisation of the virginity of the women, their sexual exploitation, domestic violences. “I am a commonplace (…) I am the most common woman between the common ones” writes Regina Jose Galindo. Carrying until her limit the assertion which art is the life, Regina Jose Galindo transcends the artistic dimension of her performances, which contribute in a poetic way, to relieve, like it says it, the collective pain of the Guatemalan people. 

Vidéos-performances: ¿ Tired Quien puede borrar huellas? (2003, 1 ‘ 50 ‘ ‘)/Mientras, elect siguen free (2007, 2 ‘ 25 ‘ ‘)/Himenoplastia (2004, 7 ‘)/Perra (2005, 5 ‘ 20 ‘ ‘)/Ablucion (2007, 4 ‘)/social Limpieza (2006, 2 ‘)

regina-jose-galindo-perra6h.jpg  regina-jose-galindo-quien6h.jpg


Invisible Borderline and territories – Maria Adela Diaz

“I express through my body, my kind sublimates it and its transformation is my manner of communicating my agreements and dissensions with the life.  By using it like a medium, I convey my objections with political disappointments, the patriarchal companies, and discriminating philosophies. ” Maria Adela Diaz
Emergent artist of the Guatemalan contemporary art, which, following the example Regina Jose Galindo, implements an esthetics of the reversal of the mark, Maria Adela Diaz works around the condition of the women and those of migrant and migrant in the United States.
Video-performances: Invisible Territorio (2005, 2 ‘)/Borderline (2005, 2 ‘) (distribution: le peuple qui manque)


Performing the border – Ursula Biemann

Artist, theorician and police chief of exposures, Ursula Biemann are auteure many works around the topics of the borders, mobilities, technologies and of the genrée dimension of the migrations.
Video-test: Performing to border (1999, 45 ‘)

“Performing to border, investigation into the living and working conditions of the women in the vast back-yard of the US economy in the south of the border enters the United States and Mexico.
Taking as starting point a publicity of the Elamex company which sells the female labour with the price of a dollar the hour, the vidéaste watch that the social and technical construction of the border extends until sexuality from those whose “performance” is praised in the image. If the account of a woman “coyote” – or frontier runner of border – makes it possible to consider possible exits of this control system, the history of the murders in series around the Mexican city of Juarez raises worrying questions concerning the serialisation of the human life for the manufacture of goods hi-tech (computers, etc). ” (Multitudes 15, winter 2004)


Last Tweets

Gender trouble
« Coyotes » et frontières
Genres, migrations et artistes de la performance en Amérique Centrale.

Vendredi 28 mars 2008 à 20h30
Maison Populaire de Montreuil
ENTREE LIBRE

Si l’Amérique Centrale est le lieu aujourd’hui d’un patriarcat qui s’articule désormais à la complexité d’une situation de globalisation économique, au sein de laquelle les maquiladoras1 , les migrations transfontalières avec les Etats-Unis et un féminicide2 qui sévit actuellement en Centre-Amérique, jouent un rôle déterminant, elle est aussi la matrice de nouvelles générations d’artistes dont le travail de performances recèle une rare force et intensité. En présentant le travail d’artistes performeuses méconnues en France, nous avons souhaité nous faire plus largement le reflet de la vitalité et radicalité du féminisme latino-américain et de l’expressivité et puissance d’évocation de ses résistances incarnées.
1 Maquiladoras : entreprises de sous-traitance de produits high tech (informatiques, laboratoires, etc), filiales de multinationales, délocalisées en territoire mexicain, faisant appel à une main-d’œuvre non qualifiée, majoritairement des femmes avec de très bas salaires.
2 L’Amérique centrale est devenue la zone du continent américain la plus touchée par les meurtres impunis de femmes. On parle même de féminicide  (génocide contre les femmes)

Séance en présence de Jules Falquet – sous réserve –
(spécialiste des mouvements sociaux et des théories féministes en Amérique latine)

 Qui peut effacer les traces ? Regina José Galindo

Poétesse et performeuse, Regina José Galindo figure depuis le milieu des années 90 comme une des artistes guatémaltèques les plus emblématiques de sa génération. Au cours de ses performances controversées, dans lesquelles son propre corps est le véhicule par lequel elle dénonce les conflits politiques et sociaux, la violence et l’injustice économique, elle rend hommage aux morts et disparus de la guerre civile des années 80-90, et de la dictature génocidaire du général Rios Montt. Son travail est aussi une explicitation de la violence faite au corps des femmes dans le monde actuel, et plus spécifiquement en Amérique Latine, avec le féminicide qui a cours en Amérique centrale, la survalorisation de la virginité des femmes, leur exploitation sexuelle, les violences domestiques. "Je suis un lieu commun (…) Je suis femme la plus commune entre les communes" écrit Regina José Galindo. Portant jusqu’à sa limite l’affirmation que l’art est la vie, Regina José Galindo transcende la dimension artistique de ses performances, qui contribuent de manière poétique, à soulager, comme elle le dit, la douleur collective du peuple guatémaltèque. 

Vidéos-performances : ¿Quien puede borrar las huellas ? (2003, 1’50’’) / Mientras, ellos siguen libres (2007, 2’25’’) / Himenoplastia (2004, 7’) / Perra (2005, 5’20’’) / Ablucion (2007, 4’) / Limpieza social (2006, 2’)

regina-jose-galindo-perra6h.jpg  regina-jose-galindo-quien6h.jpg

regina-jose-galindo-mientras-ellos-siguen-libres.jpg

Borderline et territoires invisibles – Maria Adela Diaz

« J’exprime à travers mon corps, le sublime de mon genre et sa transformation est ma manière de communiquer mes accords et désaccords avec la vie.  En l’utilisant comme un medium, je véhicule mes objections aux déceptions politiques, aux sociétés patriarcales, et aux philosophies discriminantes. » Maria Adela Diaz
Artiste émergente de l’art contemporain guatémaltèque, qui, à l’instar de Regina José Galindo, met en œuvre une esthétique du retournement du stigmate, Maria Adela Diaz travaille autour de la condition des femmes et celles des migrantes et migrants aux Etats-Unis.
Vidéo-performances : Territorio invisible (2005, 2’) / Borderline (2005, 2’) (distribution: le peuple qui manque)

maria-diaz-borderline.jpg

Performing the border – Ursula Biemann

Artiste, théoricienne et commissaire d’expositions, Ursula Biemann est auteure de nombreuses œuvres autour des thèmes des frontières, mobilités, technologies et de la dimension genrée des migrations.
Vidéo–essai : Performing the border (1999, 45’)

« Performing the border, enquête sur les conditions de vie et de travail des femmes dans la vaste arrière-cour de l’économie américaine au sud de la frontière entre les États-Unis et le Mexique.
Prenant comme point de départ une publicité de la société Elamex qui vend la main d’œuvre féminine au prix d’un dollar l’heure, la vidéaste montre que la construction sociale et technique de la frontière s’étend jusqu’à la sexualité de celles dont la « performance » est vantée dans l’image. Si le récit d’une femme « coyote » – ou passeur de frontière – permet d’envisager des sorties possibles de ce système de contrôle, l’histoire des meurtres en série autour de la ville mexicaine de Juarez pose des questions inquiétantes concernant la sérialisation de la vie humaine pour la fabrication de marchandises hi-tech (ordinateurs, etc.). » (Multitudes 15, hiver 2004)

performing-the-border

Last Tweets

  • RT @diephaven: 𝐃𝐢𝐞𝐩 𝐇𝐚𝐯𝐞𝐧 𝟐𝟎𝟐𝟏, 𝐟𝐞𝐬𝐭𝐢𝐯𝐚𝐥 𝐝'𝐢𝐝𝐞́𝐞𝐬 𝐞𝐭 𝐝𝐞 𝐜𝐫𝐞́𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧 𝐜𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐞𝐦𝐩𝐨𝐫𝐚𝐢𝐧𝐞. 22 -> 24 oct. 2021. "𝐀𝐭𝐥𝐚𝐬 𝐝𝐞𝐬 𝐛𝐢𝐟𝐮𝐫𝐜𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬" https://t.co/…- mercredi 13 Oct - 6:10
  • RT @HEADGENEVE: Nos collègues de Microsillons (les artistes Marianne Guarino-Huet & Olivier Desvoignes) participent au festival d’idées et…- jeudi 7 Oct - 10:45
  • SAVE THE DATES, 22-24 octobre 2021 ! Festival Diep~haven 2021, festival d'idées et de création contemporaine à Diep… https://t.co/yUT0O7kcfg- jeudi 30 Sep - 6:57
  • RT @IdemexParis: #FÉMINISMES & LIENS AFFECTIFS Mardi 21 septembre, 18h30 #Conversation inaugurale #Cosmologie des #poètes latino-américaine…- vendredi 24 Sep - 6:16
  • RT @IdemexParis: UNE COSMOLOGIE DE POÈTES LATINO-AMÉRICAINES https://t.co/WCOd3p8FXH https://t.co/9FeuJv0BOc- dimanche 19 Sep - 8:24
  • RT @FranceinMidwest: 📺Clichycago Livestream⏰Sat June 26 📌Watch the live👉https://t.co/iTOXpDAAFr We are only two days away from witnessing #…- samedi 26 Juin - 1:54
  • RT @lemondefr: Enquête sur le très influent Paul B. Preciado, penseur du genre et militant trans https://t.co/rCk6EPTufA- samedi 26 Juin - 1:48
  • RT @HPAC_chicago: We are only two days away from witnessing #Clichycago, a cultural exchange between @hydeparkartcenter and @ateliersmedici- samedi 26 Juin - 1:48
  • RT @FrenchCultureUS: TOMORROW, don’t miss #Clichycago, a cultural exchange between @hydeparkartcenter and @ateliersmedicis from 10am-5pm, f…- samedi 26 Juin - 1:47