Gender trouble
“Your body is a battle field” 1
Art and feminism
Schneemann/Export/ORLAN

Friday November 9, 2007 – 20:30
Maison Pop’, Montreuil
FREE ENTRY

Attention : This is an automatic translation !


In the presence of ORLAN and Caroline Bourgeois (curator of the exhibition Valie Export at the CNP, in 2003)

valie-export-3.jpgDuring years 60-70, the feminist artists shook the contemporary art in the disorder which they knew to insufflate in extreme cases of art (“the private one is political”, critical world of art and report/ratio at the institution, etc). We will present the vidéos of three major artists who, between social criticism and artistic representation, knew to transmute the relationship between body, glance and female condition.

Carolee Schneemann is famous for its fundamental contribution to the body American art and its oscillating route between painting, happening and Fluxus. Mixing with films around a dionysiaque sexuality (Meatjoy, 1964) and erotic cinematographic founded on the correspondence between seeing it and feeling it, the exchange of the glances far from a objectivation and fetichisation of the women (Fuse, 1965), it undertakes a research on the taboos, “vulvar space” and a visceral experiment of the flesh (Interior Scroll, 1975, Body joining).

carolee-schneemann-meatjoy2.jpg

In 1967, the Austrian artist Valie Export chooses for name Export, a mark of cigarettes, evoking as much the potentially commercial dimension of the artistic productions that the stereotype of the woman like consumer goods. “I wanted to bear neither the name of my father nor that of my husband; I wanted to seek my own name”. By a series of feminist actions of a great transgressive load, the artist, resulting from the actionnism Viennese – of which she will in addition have criticized a certain machism – engages his body in the battle. Defying the order of the glances, it upsets the setting in scene voyeurist of the female body by the invention of a Cinema of palpation and groping (Touch Cinema, 1968), performance of street of “revealing” of the patriarchal power struggles which govern the representation of the women. With …Remote…Remote… (1973) it brings into play the “marks of the history exposed by body actions”, marks of a “slavery passed”, and consequently reached a feminism of a rare power.

“I never made a work (drawing, photograph, sculpture, video, performance) without thinking it as a body which would seek other bodies to exist”. orlan-1.jpg(ORLAN) One knows primarily French artist ORLAN for his practice of “carnal Art”, of the plastic surgeon and of the body modified, work on construction and the artificiality of the identity, the skin and the standards, one often forgets that she initially always questioned the statute of the body and particularly of the female body in the history of art and the company. In a series of performance of MesuRAGES going back to 1978, ORLAN, evaluating the place which each urban and architectural place leaves with the individual, measures his body at the institution (the Centre Pompidou) and métaphoriquement registers its body of woman – who provides him her measuring unit, the ORLAN-Body vis-a-vis the world of Article.

Screened films:
Carolee SchneemannMeat Joy (1964, 6 min), Fuses (1964-66, 18 min), Body Collage (1967, 3:30 min), Interior Scroll – The cave (in collaboration with Maria Beatty, 1975-1995, 7:30 min)
ORLANMesuRAGES d’institution : le centre pompidou  (1977, 13’)
Valie ExportTouch Cinema (1968, 2min), Remote…Remote (1973, 12 min)

Texts and curators: Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros


1 – Tribute to a photography of Barbara Kruger (1989)

Last Tweets

  • RT @editions_PUF: Face à l’urgence climatique, passer de la démocratie à la biocratie ? 📻 A écouter : Kantuta Quiros et Aliocha Imhoff (@pe- Tuesday 21 Jun - 1:05pm
  • RT @LaGrandeTable: Toutes les voix peuvent-elles avoir la parole ? Dans "Qui parle ? (pour les non-humains)", les curateurs Aliocha Imhoff…- Thursday 16 Jun - 4:38pm
  • Nous serons heureux-se de vous retrouver aux @beauxartsparis pour une présentation de notre livre Qui parle ? (… https://t.co/VxwQUIa01u- Thursday 5 May - 9:24am
  • chèrs et chers amies, retrouvons-nous pour le pot de lancement de 𝑸𝒖𝒊 𝒑𝒂𝒓𝒍𝒆 ? (@puf) ce mercredi 4 mai à 19H30 à la… https://t.co/Aoqya0QdYR- Friday 29 Apr - 1:12pm
  • RT @IziBook: #Écologieetenvironnement #LeFilCulture #Catastropheécologique Donner une voix à ce qui n'en a pas: Un fleuve a-t-il droit à la…- Tuesday 26 Apr - 8:13pm
  • RT @nekkostella: https://t.co/FJmVukUrz4 ⁦⁦@peuplequimanque⁩ À voir... plusieurs fois https://t.co/qsNUFF7hbS- Tuesday 26 Apr - 8:13pm
  • Notre livre 𝐐𝐮𝐢 𝐩𝐚𝐫𝐥𝐞 ? @editions_PUF est enfin en librairie ! ❤️❤️ Premières dates de présentation : 30 avril 2022… https://t.co/JhzWfkm95b- Thursday 21 Apr - 5:18am
  • L'Espace d'Art Contemporain de Royan consacre une exposition solo au peuple qui manque intitulé "Humain plus humain… https://t.co/DMhHwPS7FU- Thursday 7 Apr - 8:36am
  • Le 20 avril 2022 sortira notre prochain ouvrage 𝐐𝐮𝐢 𝐩𝐚𝐫𝐥𝐞 ? (𝐩𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐥𝐞𝐬 𝐧𝐨𝐧-𝐡𝐮𝐦𝐚𝐢𝐧𝐬) de Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quir… https://t.co/nZPzINho2U- Friday 1 Apr - 8:20am

Gender trouble
“Ton corps est un champ de bataille”
Art et féminisme
Schneemann / Export / ORLAN

Vendredi 9 novembre 2007 à 20h30
Maison Pop’ de Montreuil
ENTREE LIBRE

En présence de ORLAN et de Caroline Bourgeois (directrice du Plateau et commissaire de l’exposition Valie Export  au CNP en 2003)

valie-export-3.jpgDurant les années 60-70, les artistes féministes ont ébranlé l’art contemporain dans le trouble qu’elles ont su insuffler aux limites de l’art (« le privé est politique », critique du monde de l’art et rapport à l’institution, etc.). Nous présenterons les vidéos de trois artistes majeures qui, entre critique sociale et représentation artistique, ont su transmuer les rapports entre corps, regard et condition féminine.

Carolee Schneemann est célèbre pour sa contribution fondamentale au body art américain et son itinéraire oscillant entre peinture, happening et Fluxus. Mêlant des films autour d’une sexualité dionysiaque (Meatjoy, 1964) et une érotique cinématographique fondée sur la correspondance entre le voir et le sentir, l’échange des regards loin d’une objectivation et fétichisation des femmes (Fuses, 1965), elle mène une recherche sur les tabous, l’« espace vulvaire » et une expérience viscérale de la chair (Interior Scroll, 1975, Body collage).

carolee-schneemann-meatjoy2.jpg

En 1967, l’artiste autrichienne Valie Export choisit pour nom Export, une marque de cigarettes, évoquant autant la dimension potentiellement marchande des productions artistiques que le stéréotype de la femme comme bien de consommation. « Je ne voulais porter ni le nom de mon père ni celui de mon mari ; je voulais chercher mon propre nom ». Par une série d’actions féministes d’une grande charge transgressive, l’artiste, issue de l’actionnisme viennois – dont elle aura par ailleurs critiqué un certain machisme – engage son corps dans la bataille. Défiant l’ordre des regards, elle bouleverse la mise en scène voyeuriste du corps féminin par l’invention d’un Cinéma de la palpation et du tâtonnement (Touch Cinema, 1968), performance de rue de « dévoilement » des rapports de force patriarcaux qui régissent la représentation des femmes. Avec …Remote…Remote… (1973), elle met en jeu les « stigmates de l’histoire mis à nu par des actions corporelles », marques d’un « esclavage passé », et atteint par là même un féminisme d’une rare puissance.

orlan-1.jpg « Je n’ai jamais fait une œuvre (dessin, photo, sculpture, vidéo, performance) sans la penser comme un corps qui chercherait d’autres corps pour exister ». (ORLAN) On connaît essentiellement l’artiste française ORLAN pour sa pratique de l’ « Art charnel », de la chirurgie plastique et du corps modifié, travail sur la construction et l’artificialité de l’identité, la peau et les normes, on oublie souvent qu’elle a d’abord toujours interrogé le statut du corps et particulièrement du corps féminin dans l’histoire de l’art et dans la société. Dans une série de performance de MesuRAGES datant de 1978, ORLAN, évaluant la place que chaque lieu urbain et architectural laisse à l’individu, mesure son corps à l’institution (le Centre Pompidou) et inscrit métaphoriquement son corps de femme – qui lui fournit son unité de mesure, l’ORLAN-Corps- face au monde de l’art.

Films présentés:
Carolee SchneemannMeat Joy (1964, 6 min), Fuses (1964-66, 18 min), Body Collage (1967, 3:30 min), Interior Scroll – The cave (en collaboration avec Maria Beatty, 1975-1995, 7:30 min)
ORLANMesuRAGES d’institution : le centre pompidou  (1977, 13’)
Valie ExportTouch Cinema (1968, 2min), Remote…Remote (1973, 12 min)

Textes et programmation: Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quiros

 

Last Tweets

  • Art is Not the Enemy. Graphics of the Tricontinental Dissents une petite sélection d'affiches de l'OSPAAAL que nous… https://t.co/7OCePIsZHI- samedi 27 Oct - 5:28
  • Interview d'Aliocha Imhoff et Kantuta Quiros par Amanda Ferrada pour la revue suédoise Feministisk Perspektiv, et à… https://t.co/PUweGhQlpX- samedi 27 Oct - 2:08
  • Aliocha Imhoff & Kantuta Quirós will speak tomorrow at the great symposium "Decolonizing the Curatorial" in Konstha… https://t.co/jepI4B9UHi- jeudi 20 Sep - 12:19
  • RT @diacritik: Pour la libération immédiate d’Ashraf Fayadh https://t.co/W7UWMpCPqk https://t.co/9iKbKpv2O5- lundi 10 Sep - 8:01
  • RT @kunstkritikk: #Kritik Lars-Erik Hjertström Lappalainen om ’A Debt of Times’ av Le Peuple qui manque på Konsthall C, Stockholm: https://…- mercredi 5 Sep - 12:10
  • Generous review by Lars-Erik Hjertström Lappalainen of our exhibition A Debt of times at Konsthall C ! Thanks to Ku… https://t.co/ELmHPxKBbM- mercredi 5 Sep - 9:21
  • Amis genevois, nous présenterons demain à 18h30 au Centre d’art contemporain de Genève notre film en cours Les Impa… https://t.co/BOxb0IslCy- lundi 27 Août - 9:31
  • Opening tonight at 6pm Konsthall C, Stockholm of our exhibition A Debt of Times, an ongoing research on temporal e… https://t.co/HCgKDELYZn- vendredi 24 Août - 7:13
  • RT @Feux_Noirs: Excellent ! https://t.co/v0ySVJxLTg- samedi 14 Juil - 11:10